• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

need help keeping my 1.4tbird cool...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

vdubpsu

well, right now my case is cracked open with a room fan blowing on it to keep it at a warm 48C.

Do you guys have any suggestions on keeping my chip cool with the case on? I'm using the Thermalright SK6 heatsink with a 33cfm fan. If i throw on my high speed delta 60x60, with the case closed i run about 52C, which seems really hot for the conditions.

I'm a newbie and dont want to do any major case mods yet, but i would like to get my temperature down so i can overclock.

thanks

overdoze

most thunderbird 1.4G won't overclock much due to heat. If you truely want to do it. I suggest go with watercool

OP
V

vdubpsu

well, in any matter, how can i get my chip down to mid 40's with the case closed?

Whats a safe temperature to be running a tbird?

overdoze

Try scotch tape the side of the heatsink where the retainer goes in. The idea is getting all the air to the heatsink instead of blowing out to waste.

Check the contact between the cpu and HS as well. Did you apply arctic silver 3 paste?

I've seen thunderbird runs as high as 70C safely. Overclock however you need to keep it under 50C

Lt. Max

my friend has a 1.333 Tbird and he has a volcano 5(quite sucky for his heatsink, he put a 50cfm sunon on it and now he idles around 39C. he will get an ax-7 soon, and thats what u shoul do, then u could make a duct or just put an intake and an exhaust fan in front and back of case, and a fan on the ax7

Puer Aeternus

What u talkin' about? A 1.4 tbird can o/c easilly....w/ the right fan and case cooling of course.
My 1.4 is O/C'ed to 1.6....and my temps are 43c avg.