• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help: Overclock Q6600

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

swiftkillu

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Good day to all, i'm new to this forum

This is my first time to overclock my computer.

I would like ask for some steps on how to overclock it.

My Specs:

Processor: Intel C2Q Q6600 G0
Mobo: Asus P5Q Deluxe
RAM: 2x2Gb Corsair Dominator
PSU: ST60F Silverstone
VideoCard: HIS HD 5870
Casing: Raven 2
Hard disk: 160GB
Cooling: Corsair H50
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

thanks in advance
 

Brutal-Force

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Hello and :welcome: to the forum.

If you haven't had a chance to read it yet, there is a sticky at the top of this forum on how to overclock C2D and C2Q Processors. It contains very helpful information and will help you to optimize your overclock.
 
OP
S

swiftkillu

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Thanks for the reply.

Anyone out there having his/her Q6600 G0 @3.6ghz?

Can you please post your settings here so that I can have a guide on what settings I am going to please?

Thanks in advance..
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Welcome!

Im sure there are a few people at that speed...thing is, their settings may not work for you. Cookie cutter settings are......ehh..... not the best way to learn. Not to mention, 3.6Ghz is a lofty goal, even with a G0. 3.2-3.4Ghz sounds about right.

What are your system specs though? That would help us help you the best.

Just a note, that guide is linked in my singature if you cant find it otherwise. I also strongly encourage you to read it so you know what you are doing. :)
 
OP
S

swiftkillu

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
I posted my specs already..anyway here it is.

My Specs:

Processor: Intel C2Q Q6600 G0
Mobo: Asus P5Q Deluxe
RAM: 2x2Gb Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
PSU: ST60F Silverstone
VideoCard: HIS HD 5870
Casing: Raven 2
Hard disk: 160GB
Cooling: Corsair H50
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit


SPD Timings of RAM
corsair.jpg


Max VID of my processor is: 1.3250v
cpu.jpg
 

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
With such a high VID of 1.325V you probably won't hit 3.6GHz stably without excessive Vcc. Give these settings a try for 3.38Ghz...

Code:
AI Overclock tuner: Manual
CPU Ratio Setting: 8
FSB Strap to North Bridge: 333 
FSB Frequency: 423
PCI-E Frequency: 100
DRAM Frequency: 1015Mhz
DRAM CLK Skew on Channel A1: AUTO
DRAM CLK Skew on Channel A2: AUTO
DRAM CLK Skew on Channel B1: AUTO
DRAM CLK Skew on Channel B2: AUTO
DRAM Timing Control: Manual

1st Information :

CAS# Latency: 5
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay: 5
DRAM RAS# Precharge: 5
DRAM RAS# Activate to Precharge: 15
RAS# to RAS# Delay : AUTO
Row Refresh Cycle Time: 54
Write Recovery Time: AUTO
Read to Precharge Time: AUTO

2nd Information :

READ to WRITE Delay (S/D): AUTO
Write to Read Delay (S): AUTO
WRITE to READ Delay (D): AUTO
READ to READ Delay (S): AUTO
READ to READ Delay (D): AUTO
WRITE to WRITE Delay (S): AUTO
WRITE to WRITE Delay (D): AUTO

3rd Information :

WRITE to PRE Delay: AUTO
READ to PRE Delay: AUTO
PRE to PRE Delay: AUTO
ALL PRE to ACT Delay: AUTO
ALL PRE to REF Delay: AUTO
DRAM Static Read Control: Disabled
DRAM Read Training: Disabled
MEM. OC Charger: Enabled
AI Clock Twister: AUTO
AI Transaction Booster: Manual
Common Performance Level [7]
Pull-In of CHA PH1: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHA PH2: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHA PH3: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHA PH4: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHB PH1: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHB PH2: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHB PH3: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHB PH4: DISABLED

CPU Voltage: 1.35000 - 1.40000
CPU GTL Voltage Reference (0/2): 0.630
CPU GTL Voltage Reference (1/3): 0.630
CPU PLL Voltage: 1.50
FSB Termination Voltage: 1.30
DRAM Voltage: 2.10 
NB Voltage: 1.50 
NB GTL Reference: 0.670
SBridge Voltage: 1.10
PCIE SATA Voltage: AUTO

Load Line Calibration: Disabled
CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled
PCIE Spread Spectrum: Disabled
CPU Clock Skew : Normal
NB Clock Skew : Normal

Advance CPU Settings
CPU Ratio Setting: 8
C1E Suppport: Disabled
Max CPUID Value Limit: Disabled
Intel® Virtualization Tech: Disabled
CPU TM Function: Disabled
Execute Disable Bit: Disabled
 

TechJunky

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
These are my successful settings at 3.2ghz.

All the below are bios set settings.

8 multiplier
400mhz FSB

333 Strap for memory
2.0B for multiplier
5,7,7,20
CPU Core Voltage at 1.45v
MCH voltage 1.3v
DRAM voltage 2.0v
TM2 Disabled
C1E Disabled

Good luck!

I was able to get to 2.28, but my chip was getting way too hot 74c so I decided to keep it at 3.2ghz as the extra 100mhz wasnt worth the risk. These chips get hot.