• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help overclocking in BIOS

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

theoverclocker9

Registered
Hello dear community,

I would like to overclock my Core 2 Quad Q8300 to 3.0 GHz,but I don't know how to edit the settings in my BIOS,what to disable/enable.

My motherboard is Asrock P45DE3, I have 8 GB DDR3 (2x666) 1333 MHz RAM.

I would please you to tell me how to set every single settings in my BIOS that needs to be changed (enabled/disabled etc.)

And also please help with the setting of the proper optimal ,and lowest possible value for the voltage.

Here are photos of the overclocking section of my mobo :
and my mobo's manual : https://download.asrock.com/Manual/P45DE3.pdf

Please help me,because I am a noob and even reading of the manual wouldn't help me.

Thank you in advance.

No, it would not be possible for us to give you plug and play bios values that will guarantee overclocking success. First, none of us has the same combo of CPU, motherbord and RAM as you. Second, every Q8300 CPU will respond a little differently to the same bios values. There are subtle difference in silicon and manufacturing processes that make the same model CPU from different places and different production runs, well, different. We were all noobs at one time. You need, first of all, to grasp the basic concepts that would apply to overclocking in general such as increasing voltages along with frequencies and monitoring temps as you do.

The other thing is, that motherboard will not be a good candidate for overclocking a quad core CPU. It has no heat sinks on the VRM (Voltage Regulation Module) and the VRM will quickly overheat when you begin to overclock.

What are you cooling the CPU with. The stock OEM cooler?