• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help running [email protected] on linux

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Codeman05

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2002
Location
US
Ok guys I now Dual boot linux and will probably be using linux for the most part, so I'd like be running a linux version of [email protected] (still a n00b hehe)
What would be the equivilent of the windows command line client??
Also could I run in while I'm in the GUI?
Thanks
 
OP
Codeman05

Codeman05

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2002
Location
US
ok I'm an idiot, Its with the "main" downloads...now If I can just figure out how to get this going....
 

TC

Senior Seti Addict
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
Denver, CO
Gotta unzip it with tar "tar -xvf setiathomeblablabla" Obviously type the correct file name. This will unpack it into a folder with the same name as the file you unzip. Just change into that folder and start the client with "./setiathome" That's a period and a slash followed by the client name. You can put switches after that just like the windows clc - i.e. for a proxy server, etc if you need to. Hope this gets you going.
 
OP
Codeman05

Codeman05

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2002
Location
US
Yep, figured it out right before you posted. I have it running in the command line, but I'd like to see the progress if possible. I saw a program that was the equivenlent more or less of SetiSpy, but had some trouble "installing" it. Might have to get a friend of mine to help me out with that.
Thx
 

rogerdugans

Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me...
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Location
Corner of No and Where
Two things:
if you are running a gui in linux (kde, gnopme, etc.) anyway, using wine and the windows command line client is a bit faster.

I use MultiSetiMonitor on my Farm and it works in linux too; not quite as much info as SetiSpy, but does give current % and more.

Note on wine:
newer distros are very easy to get wine running, usually: the command prompt string in RedHat 7.3 is
wine -- home/setiathome.exe
(if home/setiathome.exe is the complete path and filename for the client.)
And it configures itself.
 
OP
Codeman05

Codeman05

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2002
Location
US
Thanks Roger I'll be sure to give that a shot, running the CMD line version I got last night does pretty much suck...seems like it was atleast an hour slower.
On another note, I should reach 1,000 before the week is out :D