Need help with 9700K OC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Roniq

Hi.

Spec:

i7 9700k

Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi

Dark Rock Pro 4

I wanted to OC my CPU but i can't get 5Ghz or even 4,9GHz stable on any voltage from 1.30 to 1.40 :/

This is my first attempt to overclock so i read and watch some guides on the internet and set bios settings with them, than i only change voltage.

I checked stability with Prime95 27.9 (Blend) and every voltage on both frequencies causes BSOD or freeze after max. 5 minutes.

Yesterday i changed Prime to Asus Realbench. I tried with 4,9Ghz up to 1,36v and nothing. Passes 5x Benchmark in a row from 1,34v to 1,36v but fails at about 5 mins of stress test.

Is my chip just that bad?

Settings of my bios here. Maybe something is set wrong?

https://imgur.com/a/bipsLMx

bigtallanddopey

What are your temps with the cpu set to stock settings. Temps at idle and under load.

Easiest place to start, to check the cooling is ok.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Roniq

Idle ~33C i think. Prime95 (blend) on stock about ~60C. That's what i remember, can't check exactly now.

In Realbench stress test it goes up to 92 max after that 4-5 mins before bsod or freeze at 1.36V

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner

Try leaving the cache alone and only overclocing the CPU. That may not be it, but, I leave the cache on auto since it does so little in most cases.

Also, host the images here at the fourm. imgur images will go away after they aren't clicked on. :)

trents

Can you please list the rest of your components such as video card, PSU make and model (and wattage), Memory configuration and amount?

Also, have you tried various settings on your CPU vcore load line calibration? Right now it's on Turbo. Are their other modes or levels for that?