• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help with suspicious GPU power %

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Korph

Hello, I recently purchased a GTX 1080ti Gigabyte Aorus Extreme edition. I decided to play around with it and see how it overclocks. I should probably mention now that I'm fairly new to overclocking and I'm learning and getting experience as I go. Not far in to my overclocking endevaor i ran in to some suspicious readings in MS Afterburner.
At default, stock settings the GPU performed quite normal. The clock was fluctuating in the 1800Mhz and 1900Mhz, usage and power appeared to be normal and the temperature was in the range of 70-75c.
Since there was some headroom in the temp department I decided to do a slight overclock and raise the power limit from 100% to 120% out of the available 150% for the Aorus card. After running the same benchmarks again (as I did at the start to establish the baseline readings) I started to notice some weird behavior. After a few minutes the power % went from 100% to about 70%-80%, the temps also went down to mid 60s, but the core clock spiked up the maximum of 1999Mhz with voltage doing the same ramping up to 1,080v (while before it stayed below 1v or slightly above it), both staying there indefinetly. There was no FPS loss and the usage seemed fine also. The PSU i have is 750w Corsair RMi series which is sufficient for the GPU.