• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need Ryzen 5 3600 Overclocking help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

KingToxic

Hi, I'm pretty new to overclocking and I'm looking to overclock my CPU. my current build is

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 3600
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i Pro XT
Motherboard: MSI B450i Gaming Plus AC
Memory: G.Skill Trident Z Neo DDR4-3600 CL16-16-16-36 with a Samsung B-die
GPU: EVGA RTX 2070 Super
PSU: EVGA G3 750w Gold
Storage: Samsung 970 Pro 512GB M.2

I do a bit of streaming and a little bit of video editing but not much. I use my computer to mainly just play video games. I have got the CPU to 4200MHz @ 1.3v and got it to run Cinebench R20 for 30 minutes stable with a max temperature of 55° C. When I try and run prime95 about half the workers go "not running" and core 3 is at 10-15% utilization. I haven't done much with ram overclocking, all I have done is turn XMP on but I would like to overclock that too.

I'm looking for settings to turn on in my BIOS and just general advice for overclocking and if it's even worth it for me to go higher than 4200MHz.

To pass P95 you're going to need more voltage for that 4.2 GHz OC. Try 1.35V and add iff needed

Unless you're doing heavily multi-threaded applications I doubt that a manual OC is going to benefit you much. You may see some minimal benefit from adjusting memory timings, but it is a time consuming process of trial and error.

IMO the R5 3600 is worth overclocking, 3.6 base and about 3.9 all core boost. If you can stabilize 4.2 GHz with decent voltage then go for it. It just takes a bit of time and patience