• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need some help please, first oc'ing. =)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SiRuX

Hey Guys, I'm a total noob so please mind me.

I want to overclock my AMD Athlon 2 x4 630 AM3

Heres my computer's specs.

Asus M4A785T-M
Sapphire Radeon 5770 Vapor-x
4GB of ddr3 pc3-10333
380 antec earthwatt psu

I know my psu is a bit on the low side but my computer is very staple.

My CPU idles around 38c
my video card idles at 32c

I got a Intake fan in the front of my case and a exhaust in the back..

Also, which heatsink/cpu fan could I get here:
http://www.bewawa.com/hardware/fans-cooling.html?cat=73
That'll benefit me.. I don't want to pay more than $30...

Whats the highest I can 'safely' overclock my cpu to with that fan?
And how would I go about that without messing up big time.

Would I have to re-apply thermal paste etc? :(?

Willing to pay someone who walks me through overclocking my system.

Thanks to anyone who actually helps me with this!

Know Nuttin

:welcome: to the forums

Best budget hsf that I've seen around is the Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus. You can get that in Canada pretty cheap, under $30 with fan.

That said, it's hard to say what you can reach with what cooler since you don't have anything but the stock cooler and haven't provided what temps you get with the CPU on load. I really don't understand why people always post idle temps so often, don't we buy our computers to use them and not sit at idle all the time? anyways.....

I'd expect you to hit at least 3.3Ghz on stock, though it's tough to say if you should since there is still no idea about what your load temps are.

Lower your HT Link speed and CPU NB speed, and also your memory speed, you will want to adjust those after you find your cpu speed.