• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need to upgrade to Kernel 2.6.x ....how does the noob do it?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MadSkillzMan

hey guys. Im currently running Topologilinux 4.0...well slowly getting there...its based off of slackware 9.1. This odd versio tho requires NO partitions and runs on my existing NTFS partition alongside windows. It comes with a 2.4 kernel and has the 2.1.4C kernel patch (i think that version is right) and it only allowes readability in NTFS. Writting to it is still dangerous.

Now i know people upgrade the kernels. I was told that the 2.5 kernel has this issue resoled. The people over helping me with gentoo pointed this out. Im still a newbie but id like to get rid of that title. How do i go about upgrading my kernel? i figured here would be a good place to ask since many how to's and instructions DONT WORK.

THanks in advance guys.

kaltag

Well the 2.6 kernel still does not allow full write ability of NTFS partitions. If that's what you need look at captive NTFS. Their official sites seems to be down for me but it is available from www.freshmeat.org. It allow full read/write ability of NTFS although writing is still rather slow. It uses the windows NTFS driver and uses parts of WINE in conjunction to work correctly. The install was quite easy for me as well. 1 command If I remember correctly. Also you do not want to use the 2.5 kernel series. Those are the test versions between the stable releases 2.4 and 2.6. Use 2.6 if you're going to upgrade. As for actually configuring the kernel that depends on what hardware you're using. start by downloading the source from http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/v2.6/ and download linux-2.6.7.tar.gz . Then move it to the /usr/src directory and extract it like so.

tar -zxvf linux-2.6.7.tar.gz