• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

network newbie gotta easy question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
just added cable router.
seimens router
2x comp's
everything is setup on the internet stuff. both connect fine.

my problem is i cant get the 2 pc's to see each other so i can work between the two. is there a guide? ive read up top,if i missed it point it out please?or mabey tell me what settings i need in the network settings.kinda confusing as its my first time.
im a virgin again! :D

thanks folks!

OP
deathstar13

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
yes, ive got em both listed the same.
my problem is everything before that and other settings.im just lost.but i have my work groups the same.or mabey a wizard of some sort?

rogerdugans

Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me...
Most common mistakes I know of:
Workgroup name- must be the same
subnet- usually 255.255.255.0 on private home lans, etc. Also must be exactly the same
IP address- either DHCP or static. DHCP you should actually HAVE a DHCP Server- if you don't you end up getting M$'s defaults (which are messed up, IMO) If you go with STATIC: the first 3 octets should be 192.168.0 or something similar....and must be exactly the same on both computers. The last digit will be different, ie: 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.0.2, subnet 255.255.255.0 and workgroup home.

The last common error is.....is file sharing enabled and have you shared files on both computers?

Hopefully something in that list will fix it:)

EDIT- AVOID THE WIZARDS!!! I hate those things- they screw me up every time!

OP
deathstar13

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
ok as i look in my winipcfg im getting differant ip address showing for the 2 pc's? not sure how to get em same. this looks like my problem tho.

ronin1967