• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Networking oddity

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

scotsdale007

Registered
Joined
Jun 20, 2003
Location
Crescent City, Fl
Here is my networking problem of late.
I have 3 Win98SE machines at work that have been networked together since April and everything had been working fine until I added a wireless access point to the system. After doing that all 3 machines quit seeing each other in Network Neighborhood including themselves. I could still ping from machine to machine fine, I can search for them by name and add a shortcut to the desktop and access the shared folders fine and print to shared printers. I removed the wireless access point and plugged everything back into the 4-port Internet router our ISP provides but the problem is still here. I have powered everything down and restarted the router with no luck. Of the 3 machines PC1 is set as the Browse Master in the network properties and is booted first. PC2 and PC3 have the Browse Master option set at automatic. All are set to use 192.168.1.xxx and a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0. TCP/IP is the only protocol used. All have a shared folder with share level access. The router is a Network Everywhere (Linksys) NR041 and all settings are the same as when it worked. The wireless router is a Netgear MR814, which is now at home on a network with 2 Win Xp, 1 WIN98 and 1 Lindows 4.0 machine and that network works just fine. Any ideas?
 

lanman31337

Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2003
Do they all have the same workgroup name, and all they all connecting to the same SSID for the wireless router?
 

su root

Senior Member, --, I teach people how to read your
Joined
Aug 25, 2001
Location
Ontario, Canada
Sounds like something odd was going on with the browser master.

Were the desktops on the wireless network, or were they wired? If they were wired, they were all plugged into the same wireless router, right? Try using different ports on the router... I'm thinking you might have plugged the pcs into "uplink" "port 1-shared with uplink" and "port 2"... which would cripple almost all of them.
 
OP
S

scotsdale007

Registered
Joined
Jun 20, 2003
Location
Crescent City, Fl
Before the problem started they were all 3 were wired back to the 4 port switch our ISP provides. The 4th port was connected to a UNIX box that runs our Point of Sale software and has to communicate with one of the PC's for employess to clock in and out with. When the problem started was when 2 of the PC's and the UNIX box were hooked/wired to the new wireless router. The wireless router then was wired to the uplink port of the switch and the remaining PC was left connected to the switch. At that point I could still get to the Internet on all the PC's and use each others printers ping each other but not see each other in the Neighborhood. Removed the wireless and went back to the the original setup. The wireless was added for an upcoming 4th PC that was too difficult to wire so there was never any activity over the wireless portion.
 

su root

Senior Member, --, I teach people how to read your
Joined
Aug 25, 2001
Location
Ontario, Canada
The only thing I can suggest is that you plug it back in the way you had it, and disable all the functionality of the wireless router: DHCP server, wireless, everything. See if it works then (because it should just be acting like a switch). If it works, start turning on the features you need one at a time until it stops working.
 

aggies92

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2002
Location
Kailua, HI
You say it is working now that you have everything back the way it was, or not? You may have to wait a while after you hook it all back up for the PCs to sort out who is gonna be the master browser. Usually 15 minutes is enough, but who knows....

I can tell you that I have been fighting this problem for quite some time. I have had to map drives in order to have consistent access between PCs because Network Neighborhood just doesn't seem to be cutting it.
 
OP
S

scotsdale007

Registered
Joined
Jun 20, 2003
Location
Crescent City, Fl
I have it back the way it was but nothing shows up in Network Neighborhood. If I got Start > Find > Computer and type in a name or IP i can get to the machine and then add a shortcut to the desktop. Other than not showing up in NN everything works fine.
 

coin

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Location
Denmark
one possiblity is that somehow NETBEUI has been switched off for the Win98 boxes. They would still be able to network by IP but NN relies on name resolution through NETBEUI
 

coin

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Location
Denmark
it may be that when the wireless router was added it switched off NETBEUI on the 98boxes as it is now consdered a legacy protocol
 
OP
S

scotsdale007

Registered
Joined
Jun 20, 2003
Location
Crescent City, Fl
I know NETBEUI was never installed before and it worked. I installed it on 2 of the 3 machines this morning and now they see themselves and each other. :)

Will do the 3rd machine when it is avaliable later today and let you know. Now heres a good one, my dad has a Win98 network at his office that has been up for about 3 years with no NETBEUI.
 

twump

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2002
Location
CA
without netbeui win98 machines shouldn't see eachother in network neighborhood at all. the workgroup you assign your comps is for connecting comps in a netbeui network. in a tcp network none of the comps need a workgroup name because they run strictly off ip addresses not names. with netbeui the workgroup and computer name take the place of the ip and subnet sorta. what i'm wondering is how you were able to see the comps in network neighborhood without having netbeui installed in the first place. with a strictly tcp network there are no names to be seen in Net neighborhood just ip addresses.

netbeui= named network
tcp=numbered network


installing netbeui should solve your problems. after installing it on all 3 comps try reinstalling the WAP and see how it works. if it stops working again then the WAP is definately having a conflict with the netbeui side of the network. playing with the WAP settings should resolve the issue if it occurs again

i hope this is making some sense its 6:30am and i've been up all night so please forgive if this seems a bit incoherant.

i'll try to add more when i'm a bit more rested
 
OP
S

scotsdale007

Registered
Joined
Jun 20, 2003
Location
Crescent City, Fl
Ok, NETBEUI is now on all machines and all thinks are back to normal.

If NETBEUI is required then how does Win XP do it by names. The reason I ask is the network at home is 2 winxp, 1 win98 with TCP/IP only and 1 Linux box. They all show up in Network Neighborhood on the 98 machine and in My Network on the XP machines. Ahh man, now my brain is starting to hurt. I guess if it works don't worry about it. Thanks for all the help everyone.
 

coin

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Location
Denmark
NETBEUI is still installed as standard on XP but there is a tendancy to use WINS and hostfiles more these days.
 

coin

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Location
Denmark
still in the options for my network connections, although I can't remember if I added it after install or not :rolleyes: