• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

NEW 900 MHZ THUNDERBIRD

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cozmo_d

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2000
Location
Planet X
Hello,
I just built a abit kt7 Raid using amd's 900 mhz t bird

almost every thing is perfect , except when i boot

about once every five times that i boot it up
it locks @ the window for network password

always @ the same spot every time
I have looked for updated drivers for my linksys
network card
but none exists (updated that is)
this is pondering me
& I have wiped the HDD & reinstalled all drivers & programs & still it does this
its driving me mad im afraid to try to oc because it might get worse
I have all the latest drivers for via
& the new bios version
system specs are

abit kt7 raid ,
amd 900 tb ,
western d 7200 rpm HDD
voodoo 5 5500 AGP
creative x gamer sound card (with livedrive)
lynksys nic 10/100 fast eithernet (not setup for wol)
viewsonic gs790
Cambridge sound works 5.1
 

kn7671

Registered
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Have you installed the Via 4-in-1 drivers for the motherboard yet? I have had many problems with systems containing VIA chipsets and weird things happen until the drivers are installed. I have had modems not work, games lock up, network cards lock up upon boot or connecting to a network drive, etc... Install the Via drivers off of the Abit CD, or download the VIA drivers from
www.viatech.com

Let me know if this helps you!
 
OP
cozmo_d

cozmo_d

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2000
Location
Planet X
well
i have done it twice now
when i first built the puter
one of the first things i did
was to get windows on a fresh hdd

then next thing was via drivers from the cd

then i got my monitor drivers , voodoo drivers ,
sound drivers & nic drivers in that order

then i went & got all updated drivers from via & voodoo & made sure all were the most curent drivers

no beta versions

tonight i did the pencil trick & got a 900mhz up to
1 gig 10 x 100/33 @ 1.85 v core curent cpu temp is
33 c acording to the via hardware monitoring software
not sure how reliable that is seems as if the
bios temp & the via hardware monitoring temp is alwayes a few degres different
 

kn7671

Registered
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
I also get the same problem, according to Abit's FAQ on the website, they say it is due to the pencil of the L1 bridges, duh... But hey, we want to overclock, guess 1 out of 5 times is not terrible upon bootup, just frustrating as hell. I tried the max voltage, re-penciling, re-install, etc... but I still run across at least one boot up that locks. I have tried different heatsinks as well to see if the temp in booting was too high, but even with the best cooler I could get, Global Win FOP38, made no difference I am just deciding to live with it if I want to overclock for now.
 
OP
cozmo_d

cozmo_d

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2000
Location
Planet X
ya
problem is that it was doing it without the pencil trik applied & now that i got it up to 1.5 gig it does it alot more lol ( loking @ the network pass box
so i went down to 1 gig & it seems better but not right thx for the posts
 
OP
cozmo_d

cozmo_d

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2000
Location
Planet X
well this dam abitkt7 raid & amd900 t bird dont like high v core
or high multiplier

i have it @ 1 gig & v core is @ 7.75 i belive thats it
1 step higher from default bios voltage
anything higher than that,
it gets up to 47c
& locks up in video gaming
well i here these chips can take up to 55 c

wonder how acurate the via hardware monitor realy is???
i had it @ 1100 for a while but she was very unstable
but reel fast heheh
i want to get back to 1100 any one got some good sugestions


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Big Mike

Senior Head of Import Performance
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Fort Wayne, IN
While they run at 55C they're awful shaky, dropping from 50C to 40C got me another 50 MHZ on my early production Tbird 750. You definately will have more luck with lower temps, then you can push the Vcore higher too which helps your overclock. Also when my chip was running in the low 50s it still overclocked higher with a 1.85 vcore than 1.75.
 
OP
cozmo_d

cozmo_d

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2000
Location
Planet X
Big Mike (Dec 26, 2000 09:00 p.m.):
While they run at 55C they're awful shaky, dropping from 50C to 40C got me another 50 MHZ on my early production Tbird 750. You definately will have more luck with lower temps, then you can push the Vcore higher too which helps your overclock. Also when my chip was running in the low 50s it still overclocked higher with a 1.85 vcore than 1.75.

hi there just thought id put this up

got abit kt7 raid & amd 900 tb
up to a fairly stable oc & temp
running @ 1040 with v core @ 7.75
& bumped the I/O voltage to3.40
up 1 setting from default

then i used the cpu fsb mhz fine adjustment (1 - 28)
& set it for (4)
now shes runnin @ 1040 mhz
with a nice temp of 42 c after about 5 hours of intensive half life play heheheh
also took the f-16 up for a spinn

think i might need another exhaust blower i got 5 fans blowing in & thats alot more cfs intaking vs exhausting
so if i do that, probly can temps a lil lower
hell i might get 1050 yet

but this bad boy just dont wana run @ 1100
video locks up & nuttin will work it boots to the desk top so i guess there's hope maybe a good burn in would help it out ( HMMMMMMMMMMMM)
thx for post all & belated mary x maz
hope some 1 got some new toy's
god knows u all been some great lil o'c girls & boys
ho ho hoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo