• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

new 9590, let's dust the new off shall we.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kenrou

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
1st would be checking what voltage you can get it 100% stable at 4.7ghz and 5ghz no ? How low can you go so to speak ;)
 
OP
caddi daddi

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
I need to go find shrimpbrines thread on these things, it seems to be a little more touchy than an 8350.
 

Mr.Scott

Beamed Me Up!
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Typically, temp will be the real issue. You'll need 1.5-1.525v for 5 gig stable. That is about the norm. You'll not be able to keep it cool as your wall hanger. You'll need better than that.
 
OP
caddi daddi

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
do you think it will keep from overheating at default on the wall?
 

Mr.Scott

Beamed Me Up!
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
do you think it will keep from overheating at default on the wall?
How much volts are you gonna put through it? :D


Seriously though, maybe. Undervolt as low as you can keep it stable, and keep all the green turned on, and you might have a chance.
 
OP
caddi daddi

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
MAN!!! This ain't no 8350!!!!!
you had better have a very firm understanding of the whats and whys of digi vrm and know a recording dvom like the back of your hand, it took about 6 attempts just to catch the vcore droop as prime 95 loaded the chip. getting this piggy to run is not for the newbies.
had it not been for the times I have spent extreme clocking and leaning on Rgone, this idea would be in the ash pit already!!!!
here's the tweaks in digi vrm it takes just to run p95...



161022193416.png
 
OP
caddi daddi

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
got my first run in, 4.0.
takes a while to work the voltage "DOWN" from 1.512.
undervolting and underclocking just ain't right, nooooo sir, not right AT ALL!!!


better.PNG
 

Mr.Scott

Beamed Me Up!
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
When I said undervolt, I meant at the stock speed. 4.7 @ 1.50v is where I'd start. If you could get the voltage down a little that would be ok.


Also, using your methods, I did in my 8320 today. It's now having a hard time running at stock. :p
 
OP
caddi daddi

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
it's not looking like I'm going to be able to run 4.7 with this on the wall anyway, my 4 Excalibur fans are cranked up full tilt now on the desk.
when I hang it on the wall you can add 5c to the cores and 15c to the socket just due to the sucky airflow of the case and the way the rad heats the back of the socket.
there is not a lot I can do about it, I already have a small fan in the rear of the case to help with hard drive temps and the socket is directly under a hard drive in this case so I can't get direct airflow to it, such are display cases............
 
OP
caddi daddi

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
here's 4.2.
less volts and more heat.
I know this way of getting it.
please take me by the hand and teach me another.



better.PNG
 

Mr.Scott

Beamed Me Up!
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
it's not looking like I'm going to be able to run 4.7 with this on the wall anyway, my 4 Excalibur fans are cranked up full tilt now on the desk.
when I hang it on the wall you can add 5c to the cores and 15c to the socket just due to the sucky airflow of the case and the way the rad heats the back of the socket.
there is not a lot I can do about it, I already have a small fan in the rear of the case to help with hard drive temps and the socket is directly under a hard drive in this case so I can't get direct airflow to it, such are display cases............


That sucks.
Seems like kind of a waste then.
Probably should have went with a 8370e. At least you could cool that.
 
OP
caddi daddi

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
if I really want to cool it i'll plumb the mo-ra or the super nova into it.

the socket is the wall i'll be against, it's in the 70's now..........
 
OP
caddi daddi

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
4.7, I'll have to try to reduce the socket temps with some changes to the bios and it will come down as I work the vcore down.


better.PNG
 

Kenrou

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
not to worry, I'm very used to the hot and high voltage club.

We know, the problem for you was always "but it's not high enough" :rofl: i did tell you to find your lowest voltage points, since it came out everyone says the 9*** series kicks out a ridiculous amount of heat, it's not a CPU you would want on air/cheap AIO :(
 
OP
caddi daddi

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
yes, I'm finding the bottom voltages now and at 4.7 this seems to be it.
one of the issues I seem to have been fighting last night seems to have been this rig upgrading itself from win10 1511 to win 10 1607 as when I shut it down last night it upgraded and now the thing is behaving very nicely and cooling much better in the same room temp of 76 degrees.


better.PNG


now I just have to get the water block back on the titan and get it plumbed back into the cooling system.