• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Build in planning - water cooled + overclocked dual loop + case mods!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Monkey8EA5T

Hi all,

I've been building PCs for a couple of decades now, but have never done a custom water cooled set up. I'm planning on building a dual loop, hard-lined setup, into a modified Thermaltake Core X71 case! Well that's the plan! I''ve set up a GoFundMe page to hopefully get some funds towards it, but any advice or tips are welcome! I want to try to get the most "bang-for-my-buck" that I can, but all for as little as I can. My main limiting factor is the amount of money available; hence the GoFundMe page!

I'm posting in this folder, as what I've got planned covers multiple areas. Apologies if it's in the wrong area!

After a bit of research, I've decided to go for PETG hardline tubing, as I understand it's easier to work with than acrylic. I've looked about and spoken with a few people so going for EK water blocks kit where I can. The X71 has loads of room for Rads, so I might have to play around with alternative radiators, as the EK ones might be a little small in there!

I'm plannning on modifying the Thermaltake X71 case as there are a few things I don't like. Firstly, the colour; it's only available in Black, and I sort of want to go for a white/blue/black colour scheme, so I'm thinking of stripping it down and painting it. Whilst I'm doing that, it has a number of grommets on the back for "backpack" radiators, which I don't like. I'm actually toying with the idea of plating the holes, and welding (yes, welding!) them up!

I'm also looking at running dual video cards in SLI; specifically dual EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Founders Editions.