• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New build with a problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Wolfman86

Registered
Hello! I'm new to the OC forums and would like to get some hardware help if possible. I'm not sure which section this goes in, so please forgive me if this is the wrong section to be posting this in.

I recently built a new system with these new parts:

Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3
AMD Phenom II BE X4 955 @ 3.2GHz
OCZ Black Edition 2x2GB (1.65 volts @ 8-8-8-24)
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Using these old parts from previous build:

WD 74GB 10k RPM Raptor
WD 320GB SATA 3Gb/s
GeForce 7600 GS (3.5 years old)
CoolMax CP-500T 500W (3 years old)

Here's my problem: when I put the two sticks of ram into the dimms slots closest to the cpu, windows starts up just fine, but after awhile I get a BSOD saying nvlddmkm.sys was the cause and reboots. Since then, I have tested both sticks separately and together in Memtest86+ v4.10 in all 4 dimm slots for 15+ hours with no errors.

What's odd is when I boot into windows with just one stick closest to the cpu, I get no BSOD. To add to that, I have been running windows on both sticks in the two dimm slots furthest away from the cpu and haven't encountered a BSOD in 2 almost 3 days now, but I have gotten a screen flicker that said the display driver has been reset or something like that.

My Nvidia display drivers are up-to-date and I have also checked the video card for any blown capacitors or visible problems to find nothing. I was thinking it could possibly be bad dimm slots or my PSU has dipped below the amount of power I need to fully operate my system. Any help is appreciated! Thanks!

Last edited:
The nvl error is for your videocard. I would unistall and resinstall your drivers. Update to the newest ones (257.21 IIRC).