• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

WrkBoot

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Location
United States
OK... I now thinking of spending some money. I dropped 900 on a video card so my wallet is still open. I'm retired now so I have a lot of time to think up sheet to do. It's going to be an Intel build because that's what I've always had. I'm spending about 2K and I have somewhat of a list. If you see other parts that will be better please speak up. If I can't get the ram then the built will be off. I really don't want to go DDR4 and MB because it's a step back.

Phanteks Enthoo Pro TG PH-ES614PTG_BK Integrated RGB lighting Tempered Glass Side Panel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Black

MSI MPG Z690 CARBON WIFI DDR5 LGA 1700 Intel Z690 SATA 6Gb/s ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core i7-12700KF - Core i7 12th Gen Alder Lake 12-Core (8P+4E) 3.6 GHz LGA 1700 125W Desktop Processor - BX8071512700KF

SAMSUNG 980 M.2 2280 1TB PCI-Express 3.0 x4, NVMe 1.4 V-NAND MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-V8V1T0B/AM
G.SKILL Trident Z5 RGB Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR5 SDRAM DDR5 6000 Intel XMP 3.0 Desktop Memory Model F5-6000J3636F16GX2-TZ5RK

Or maybe 32g because it's about the same price.

CORSAIR HX Series HX1000 CP-9020139-NA 1000 W ATX12V v2.4 / EPS12V 2.92 80 PLUS PLATINUM Certified Full Modular Power Supply
Because I want to go for a higher-end card later

Noctua NH-D15 chromax.Black, Dual-Tower CPU Cooler (140mm, Black) (NH-D15chromax.black)

Microsoft Windows 11 Pro 64-bit, DVD - OEM
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Looks like a solid build overall... make sure you set $400+ aside for ddr5. :(

1000W is a llt. Unless you're looking at overclocking a 3090ti or something, id stick to 850W or so. I run a 12900k and 3080ti on a 750W without issue. :)
 
OP
WrkBoot

WrkBoot

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Location
United States
Earthdog, Yeah I figured it was overkill.....I am wanting to go to a higher-end video card after they become available and the price starts getting better.:ROFLMAO:o_O

freakdiable, thanks for the info on the HD I guess I wasn't paying attention. Don't you think DDR4 is going backward?? I guess you can look at it in a few ways. The 2K is my starting point. I don't want to be too crazy with the money but...I want a decent rig.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2005
All I'm gonna say about DDR4 is that I took a similar route as you, lol. If building a new system might as well grab the latest junk, even if I'll likely never take advantage of it.
 
OP
WrkBoot

WrkBoot

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Location
United States
All I'm gonna say about DDR4 is that I took a similar route as you, lol. If building a new system might as well grab the latest junk, even if I'll likely never take advantage of it.
????? Nothing is set in stone. I do value everyone's opinion on this site, I've been here for a while. I don't want to buy sheet that I'm not really going to need.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Then don't get a 1KW PSU. :p

850W is plenty of a high end single gpu. Like I said, I'm rolling on a 850W (sorry, said 750w ealrier..earlier... I upgraded for quality) with a more power hungry processor and a high-end card with zero worries. :)
 

JLK03F150

What have I done! Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Georgia
You can save a bunch of money getting a key from VIP-URCDKEY. The site emails you a Win11 key & you download from Microsoft to a 4GB+ flash drive. I have done this several times, worked like a charm, but I only have one warning. Don't buy the key until you are ready to install Windows. I sat on a key for almost a year & when I used it, it was no longer considered 'genuine'. That was a $12 loss on a Win10 Pro key. They have discount codes on a regular basis, so let us know when you are ready to buy and we can find you a code.
 
OP
WrkBoot

WrkBoot

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Location
United States
Thanks, guys.
I;ve changed a few things like some of you said. I would like to order this sometime this week. Any other thoughts?

SAMSUNG 980 PRO M.2 2280 1TB PCI-Express Gen 4.0 x4, NVMe 1.3c Samsung V-NAND 3-bit MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-V8P1T0B/AM​

CORSAIR RM850 CP-9020235-NA 850 W ATX 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular Power Supply​

 

DaveB

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Should be a nice build. I just put together a budget i7-12700F/H610/DDR4 setup. Used my existing DDR4, NVMe drive, RTX 3060 GPU and EVGA 450W PSU. Runs great but the RM1 Intel cooler limited performance since its spec'd for 65W while the processor PL1 value is 125W. Luckily, Cooler Master Sent me an LGA 1700 adapter for my AIO today and now all is well. Now it can cruise at the PL1 125W value all day without any throttling and hit 174W peak under load running Cinebench R23.
 

dfonda

Senior Golfer
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
Get the unopened EVGA 750W PSU in the classified section...Great seller;)

If you sign into a Windows account you may be able to use Windows 10 from an old build, than upgrade for free to Windows 11...That what I did in my Z690 build.

Congrats on your retirement...I am almost 2 years in and lovin every minute...:cool:
 
OP
WrkBoot

WrkBoot

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Location
United States
Thanks, I ordered it last night. Some parts SHOULD be here today. I think this month Dying light 2 should be out,O sheet it'll be here this Friday.
 
OP
WrkBoot

WrkBoot

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Location
United States
I got my parts all my parts yesterday and have assembled my rig. The case I bought was smashed so a new one SHOULD be on its was. I have it together on my table. I loaded Win11 and all the drivers, they came on a jump drive, new to me. I down loaded DL2 and played a little. I haven't done much I'm waiting until I get it in a case. I haven't found the sound card software yet, I'm sure its in there. At this point I'm liking Win10 better 11.
 

JLK03F150

What have I done! Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Georgia
Sorry about the case, but congrats on getting the rest of the system together. Hopefully you'll get the new case soon enough.
Would you mind doing a CrystalDiskMark run for us to show of that gen 4 980 Pro?
By "sound card software" do you mean the onboard or did you get an add-in card?
 
OP
WrkBoot

WrkBoot

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Location
United States
I just ran it,I hope this will tell you something.Maybe you could tell me what it means
Post magically merged:

You need to go to your mobo web page and DL the software and drivers. ;)
Yeah I did that but can't fine it on my comp
 

Attachments

  • CDM_20220206130027.txt
    2.4 KB · Views: 8

JLK03F150

What have I done! Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Georgia
Here's my gen 3 WD Black SN750 1GB.

cdm_wd-1tb-sn750-png.211943


And here's your data. Much better numbers on that gen 4! Thanks for taking the time. I'd like to update my NVME to gen 4 at some point, then move this one into the 2nd slot.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------ CrystalDiskMark 7.0.0 x64 (C) 2007-2019 hiyohiyo Crystal Dew World: https://crystalmark.info/ ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ * MB/s = 1,000,000 bytes/s [SATA/600 = 600,000,000 bytes/s] * KB = 1000 bytes, KiB = 1024 bytes [Read] Sequential 1MiB (Q= 8, T= 1): 6649.525 MB/s [ 6341.5 IOPS] < 1103.35 us> Sequential 1MiB (Q= 1, T= 1): 4269.457 MB/s [ 4071.7 IOPS] < 245.47 us> Random 4KiB (Q= 32, T=16): 4185.449 MB/s [1021838.1 IOPS] < 484.87 us> Random 4KiB (Q= 1, T= 1): 97.037 MB/s [ 23690.7 IOPS] < 42.13 us> [Write] Sequential 1MiB (Q= 8, T= 1): 4939.318 MB/s [ 4710.5 IOPS] < 1627.81 us> Sequential 1MiB (Q= 1, T= 1): 4369.579 MB/s [ 4167.2 IOPS] < 239.82 us> Random 4KiB (Q= 32, T=16): 4143.278 MB/s [1011542.5 IOPS] < 502.73 us> Random 4KiB (Q= 1, T= 1): 283.813 MB/s [ 69290.3 IOPS] < 14.36 us> Profile: Default Test: 1 GiB (x5) [Interval: 5 sec] <DefaultAffinity=DISABLED> Date: 2022/02/06 13:00:27 OS: Windows 10 Professional [10.0 Build 22000] (x64)
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
If you search "Realtek" in Windows, it doesn't show the audio software?

Also, a screenshot of your results are perfect. Better than a text file we need to DL... scary to see a text file to DL in a forum, lol......