• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED New card no workie!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Chum

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2002
Location
St. Louis, Mo. U.S.A.
Everything plugged in. Motherboard gives me 5 warning beeps and no screen. The cable coming from my PSU is marked "VGA" but it is 6 pins with a 2 pin tied next to it. I assumed to plug them both in to make it a 8 pin connector. I have re seated the card and checked and re checked the connections. Still not working. It is a MSI Ventus 3X 3060 TI
 
Solution
I tried everything. I took the card to a local shop and they tested it. It does not work for them either. The card is DOA. Have to send it back. This sucks!

JLK03F150

What have I done! Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Georgia
Is this a modular PSU? Is the PSU end of the cable plugged into a PCIe spot and not an 8 pin CPU power spot. Are all cables seated well at the PSU.
Did you double check the Hyper 212 is still seated.
 
OP
Chum

Chum

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2002
Location
St. Louis, Mo. U.S.A.
Yes it is a modular PSU. Please what is "Hyper 212"? I will look for different cables to plug in to the PSU. Just have to find where I put them. It is several years old. EVGA Super Nova 750 Watt Gold PSU
 

Nebulous

Dreadnought Class Senior
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Location
The Empire State
Also when it comes to the cables from the PSU, you ONLY want to use the ones marked VGA/PCIE. Do not attempt to use any other cables. You will risk killing the video card, motherboard and PSU.
 
OP
Chum

Chum

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2002
Location
St. Louis, Mo. U.S.A.
Also when it comes to the cables from the PSU, you ONLY want to use the ones marked VGA/PCIE. Do not attempt to use any other cables. You will risk killing the video card, motherboard and PSU.
Yes I know. They are marked VGA. The same cable I use for my older GTX980. Replacement card coming tomorrow.
Post magically merged:

you buy it new or used?
New from Newegg. I had to RMA.
 
OP
Chum

Chum

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2002
Location
St. Louis, Mo. U.S.A.
Oh oh! Replacement card does the same thing. (5 warning beeps and no signal) Have the old card back in again. I Know all is right. MOBO has the latest BIOS too. Someone said PCIe 4.0 cards will work in my PCIe 3.0 slot. Is there maybe a BIOS setting I have to do to get this thing to work? If not I am out $500
 
OP
Chum

Chum

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2002
Location
St. Louis, Mo. U.S.A.
No, the one I sent back went to Ca. The replacement came from Georgia. Possibly my BIOS is version P2.70 I just downloaded version 2.80 but all it says it is for is some CPU stuff
 

JLK03F150

What have I done! Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Georgia
Oh well, worth a shot. Do you have different HDMI and/or DisplayPort cables you can try? The 3060 Ti is going to prefer the newer gen cables. Did it come with a DisplayPort or HDMI?
 
OP
Chum

Chum

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2002
Location
St. Louis, Mo. U.S.A.
Oh well, worth a shot. Do you have different HDMI and/or DisplayPort cables you can try? The 3060 Ti is going to prefer the newer gen cables. Did it come with a DisplayPort or HDMI?
I do have both cables. I tried both. I believe when my MOBO gives me the warning beeps it means it is not "seeing" the card. It has to be a connection or compatibility problem. Someone also said try it without the PSU connection.