• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New card, old mobo

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Stiletto

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2003
Location
GA
I have a new FIC radeon 9700 and wanted to see if it worked. However, I wont be able to test it in my main rig until sometime next week. So I tried it in my 4 year old IBM just out of curiousity. Didn't get a signal to monitor, and not really sure if it posted.

Is it possible for this new card to simply not work with such an old mobo? The old computer is able to use a spare geforce 3 I have, so I know it can run some recent cards. Heck, could even be too weak of a PSU. Just wondering if it is most likely too powerful for my old computer, rather then possibily being a dud card. Opinions?

TIA
 

bafbrian

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2003
Location
Atlanta, GA
It is possible. Considering your mobo is that old, I don't it will accept technology that new.

All of this is an assumption. (Yes, I know what I am doing when I assume.)
 
OP
Stiletto

Stiletto

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2003
Location
GA
Know next to nothing about the mobo, other then its intel and has 3 pci slots and an agp :) I dont really care about too specific information, mainly just wondering how likely it is.
 

PreservedSwine

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2002
Location
Ft. Myers, Fl.
Well, you should care..if yu popped it into an AGP1.0 slot (not even sure it would fit) you could fry the card. AGP1.0 (AGP1x,2x) supplies about twice the voltage of AGP2.0(AGP2x, 4x)
 
OP
Stiletto

Stiletto

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2003
Location
GA
Sigh, figures that it is an AGP 1.0, cant find its voltage.

On a side note, would this AGP 1.0 have not affected my gfroce 3?
 

pip

Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Location
Oregon, The InteLinux State
is there a notch in the middle of the agp slot? if not it is an AGP 1.0 slot and you very well could fry your card because it uses more than twice the voltage the car is used with
 
OP
Stiletto

Stiletto

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2003
Location
GA
it does have a notch. However, a dead board I have that I know is 4xagp has no notch. Did you get it backwards? I hope not :(
 
OP
Stiletto

Stiletto

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2003
Location
GA
Hmm, looks like the psu only puts out 100W at most. That could be it. Like half a week till I know for sure, we shall see.
 

repo man11

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
This chart at Tom's shows AGP 3.0 (8X) is only backwards compatible to 4X. AGP 2.0 (4X) is backwards compatible to 2X.
So if you have an 8X card, and a 2X slot, it won't work, and you may fry the card.