• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED New i5 system crashes/other problems

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Phelix08

First off hi everyone, this is my first time posting here though i've been reading for quite a while and really enjoy the site. Sorry to start out with a problem but I'm kinda at my wits end and this place seemed like my best bet to get some help.

I have a new i5 system:
Windows 7 x64
ASUS P7P55D-E (It was open box, for what it's worth.)
i5 750 @ stock
2 x 2 gigs of OCZ DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTS 250 1024
Seagate Barracuda 500 gig 7200 rpm
Some oldish IDE DVD burner (given to me by a friend, i think it's an OEM model but I can't find much of anything about it)
600W Thermaltake power supply
It runs pretty cool, low 30's when idle and I've never seen it break 65 under load

About all I can think of..

Anyway, the thing has never really worked right. When I first got it, I could barely even get the OS to install (I was using windows xp 32 bit and ubuntu 10.04 64 bit at that point in time). Tried a few things myself (a few passes of memtest 86+ and got nothing at all) and eventually returned it to micro center to see what they could come up with. They decided it was bad ram, and replaced both sticks.

I got the computer back, and it worked for about 2 or 3 days after reinstalling vista 64 bit on it and using that. But, Vista randomly BSOD'd and wouldn't update, it kept giving me errors when it started installing. That wasn't exactly great, so I decided to take it back again. They thought it was a bad install, so we installed a fresh copy of Windows 7 64 Ult 64 bit. Ran furmark and a few other benchmarks to stress test it a bit, and everything worked ok, so I took it home.