• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New KR7A-RAID system PROBLEMS!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

XiveX

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2002
Location
Cleveland, OH
Hi all,

I just bought and have been assembling an Antec 1040B case with True Power 480w PSU, Abit KR7A-RAID, Athlon XP2000+ (with Alpha PAL 8045), VisionTek Geforce4, Corsair (two) 512MB XMS2700 DDR, Western Digital 60GB IDE 7200RPM Hard Drive, Plextor CD-RW.

I put it all together, turned it on and it beeped once or twice (sounded like normal post beep), but no video display came on. After hearing about all the memory problems the KR7A-RAID boards have with the 4 DIMM slots and memory errors, I tried moving the DIMMS around. Slots 1 and 2 were first, then 1 & 3, then 2 &3. I stayed away from slot 4. Once the computer made a continuous series of beeps, then I moved it and now it has quit beeping all together no matter where I put the RAM, but I still have no video display whatsoever.

On top of this, when I first booted it, my Northbridge fan kicked on fine. Now it won't come on at all. All other fans are running fine, including the Alpha's Mechatronics fan.

I disconnected EVERYTHING from the motherboard EXCEPT the PSU, Geforce4, and DDR sticks (including removing the LED lights). Tested and same results. Is it booting fine and I have a bad Geforce 4? Or do I have a bad mobo (ie changes in beeps, now no beep and no northbridge fan running anymore)? I had been using the Geforce 4 in a 1Ghz P3 Dell machine and it was running ok, now I get no video with it in this machine. I am planning on trying the card in another machine but I have a feeling its still good. I think I have a dead motherboard.

Any ideas??

Thanks,
Xive :( :(
 

repo man11

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
If I were you, my next step would be to try another power supply, if possible. Make absoloutely sure you have no grounding where there shouldn't be. I can't think of any other constructive suggestions right now. Good luck!
 

Sonny

Senior TIFOSI
Joined
Aug 3, 2001
Location
VARIANTE ASCARI
Is there a fan plugged into the header? The BIOS will be looking for an RPM signal for the CPU or it will not boot, since you have a strong fan on your HS you may have plugged it into the PSU w/o having to give the MoBo an RPM signal.

Are you sure the ram is on properly? This was one of the earlier issues of the board, tight DIMM Slots.
 
OP
XiveX

XiveX

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2002
Location
Cleveland, OH
YES

Yes, the CPU Alpha Fan is plugged into FAN HEADER1. This is what the manual says to plug it into. The Antec PSU Fan is plugged into Fan header #2.

I am positive I have the RAM in correctly. Plus, I've moved it around to varying combos of slots so even if I missed it once, I've done it about 4-5x now so I know its in good.

As for the grounding issue, I **DID** have 2 studs on the case that I forgot to remove from beneath the mobo (they don't line up with any holes). I have since removed them and the problem remains...on this note though, the Antec cases do not have enough mount points for the board. I found this VERY VERY odd. I thought these mount points were standardized based on mobo form factor (ie AT, ATX, LBX, etc.). There are 3 rows of 3 holes on the mobo for mounting. The Antec 1040B case only has line-ups for the top3, middle two (left and center), and bottom two (left and center). The middle right mount point and bottom right mount point do NOT line up with any holes on the case, so I could not put a stud there. The stud i thought it would fit in was about 1/4" too far to the right and those two were the ones I removed....didn't help though.

As for the PSU issue, I dont' believe that is the problem. Why would the other fans kick on, or mobo lights come on if PSU wasn't functioning correctly?

What about the northbridge fan no longer working?? To me that is another indication of a bad mobo..

Xive
 
OP
XiveX

XiveX

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2002
Location
Cleveland, OH
UPDATE!

UPDATE!!!

OK, I couldn't take it anymore, after playing around with RAM and slots more (and unplugging northbridge fan and reseating it and CPU fan), it still wasn't working. I took a working Geforce 2 GTS/64MB card out of another box, put it in this one and as I was about to put it on I noticed that my Geforce 4 on this KR7A had no fan moving. Weird, well figured I probably had a bad Geforce4. Stuck the Geforce2 in to test video and same result, black screen, no beeps, no nothing. Then I noticed the G2's fan wasn't moving either...well yay no dead G4, but boo I am pretty sure I have a dead mobo now.

No northbridge fan anymore and two different video cards won't give display or even start their fan. Sounds like dead mobo to me...what do you think?

Xive :eh?:
 

Sonny

Senior TIFOSI
Joined
Aug 3, 2001
Location
VARIANTE ASCARI
Sounds like you blew the fan headers. If the HSF is too strong for the header then people usually use a weak fan to give it an RPM signal or just wire the HSF to run of the PSU but still have the signal go to the header. Sorry for your loss:(
 

AntiHeiss

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Location
Texas
In the BIOS on the KR7A you can go to PC Health and change the System off on CPU fan fail....off. thats what I did...doesn't mind too much.