• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New member, and my first question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SketchyD

So I just typed all this out and my computer wigged and I lost it.

Anyway, Hi I'm a new member. I'm also rather new to overclocking. I've been familiar with the principle for some time, but never done it myself. I built my computer a little over 2 years ago, and have done some minor updates in recent months. I started trying to overclock for better Arma 3 Epoch performance. I've done a lot of reading, and watched many videos, but I've never been a good textbook student. I prefer to do, and be involved. So I thought it high time I got involved with some people with experience, and ask some questions specific to my case.

A few months ago I got an SSD, followed by a hand-me-down 7850 GPU (replacing my 6850). A couple weeks ago, I decided I should upgade the stock CPU cooler that I've been running for 2+years. When I went to my friend's to install it, he dug out an unused rig he had, which he had bought, added the 7850 to, and then discarded because he didn't like it (primarily because of MSi microATX he didn't like, and he wanted to build from scratch). In addition to a new cooler, my setup got a new case (better cooling, and cable management), more RAM, and an FX-8120, over a 6100. Our "8>6" mentality behind that move was based on what we've learned and experienced with Arma: that while it's a notoriously bad performer, it's very CPU intensive, and more should be better.

Well since then, I've been trying to overclock this 8120. The more reading I've been reading, and watching, here and elsewhere, it seems like this may have been the wrong move. It appears my mobo may not be able to handle an 8-core.

My rig, as it stands now:
AMD FX-8120 with CoolerMaster Hyper T4