• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Need for Speed requirements

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kenrou

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Although i like seeing high end gear being used to its fullest potential, many people will be left out with requirements like this :(

Minimum Requirements for 720p30 at low settings:

OS: 64-bit Windows 7 or later
Processor: Intel Core i3-4130 or equivalent with 4 hardware threads
Memory: 6GB RAM
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB, AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB, or equivalent DX11 compatible GPU with 2GB of memory
Hard Drive: 30 GB free space

Recommended Requirements for 1080p60 at high settings:

OS: 64-bit Windows 7 or later
Processor: Intel Core i5-4690 or equivalent with 4 hardware threads
Memory: 8GB RAM
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 4GB, AMD Radeon R9 290 4GB, or equivalent DX11 compatible GPU with 4GB of memory
Hard Drive: 30 GB free space

http://www.fudzilla.com/news/games/40017-need-for-speed-system-requirements-announced
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Lol, you looove fraudzilla, don't ya?! :p

This isn't as bad as another game someone posted recently...

Quad core, 8GB system ram, gpu with 4gb...upper midrange gpu... sounds about right these days. :)
 
OP
Kenrou

Kenrou

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Quantum Break ? Me as well 😉 really surprised with that one, 980Ti as a requirement better be a photo realistic work of art...
 

JLK03F150

What have I done! Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Georgia
The only requirement I know of for the past decade of need for speed is that you learn to live with disappointment.
 

ATMINSIDE

Sim Racing Aficionado Co-Owner
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
6 GB usually means triple channel, which only existed on 1366 and maybe others that aren't Intel's mainstream platform.

6GB means, for DDR3, more than 4GB and less than 8GB is required.
It's simply a minimum system requirement, don't read too much into it.
 

RJARRRPCGP

Member
Joined
May 30, 2004
6GB means, for DDR3, more than 4GB and less than 8GB is required.
It's simply a minimum system requirement, don't read too much into it.

And 5 GB, which is more common on DDR 2, because of needing to use 2 different module sizes. 7 GB would be the same type of deal...

6 GB on anything other than 1366, probably indicates mixed sticks.

In the DDR 2 world, you almost always have to "mix-and-match", because of it being virtually impossible to get more than 4 GB of DDR 2 otherwise...

And Chrome easily requires more than 4 GB of RAM for some tests easily, IIRC. Chrome seems to run out of RAM easily...
 
Last edited:

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
I mean you are right, but here, It's just a value... there is no meaning behind it tied to a specific platform... come back out of the rabbit hole!
 

ATMINSIDE

Sim Racing Aficionado Co-Owner
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
And 5 GB, which is more common on DDR 2, because of needing to use 2 different module sizes. 7 GB would be the same type of deal...

6 GB on anything other than 1366, probably indicates mixed sticks.

In the DDR 2 world, you almost always have to "mix-and-match", because of it being virtually impossible to get more than 4 GB of DDR 2 otherwise...

And Chrome easily requires more than 4 GB of RAM for some tests easily, IIRC. Chrome seems to run out of RAM easily...

You missed the important part of my post... It's just a minimum value, you're reading in to something that isn't there.
 

wingman99

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
I hope need for speed is better than all the other ones locked at 60 FPS on some and 30 FPS on others.
 
OP
Kenrou

Kenrou

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
I think the best one i played so far was Most Wanted 2005 version. Damned nice soundtrack when you got rid of the hip-hop crap.
 

ATMINSIDE

Sim Racing Aficionado Co-Owner
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Can't get past the garbage physics enough to notice either the graphics or music...
 

dyckah

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
And 5 GB, which is more common on DDR 2, because of needing to use 2 different module sizes. 7 GB would be the same type of deal...

6 GB on anything other than 1366, probably indicates mixed sticks.

In the DDR 2 world, you almost always have to "mix-and-match", because of it being virtually impossible to get more than 4 GB of DDR 2 otherwise...

And Chrome easily requires more than 4 GB of RAM for some tests easily, IIRC. Chrome seems to run out of RAM easily...

i have 8gb of ddr2 in both my ddr2 systems.... 4x2gb sticks!
and i actually prefer need for speed style racing games over the more realistic sim racing games.... if i want to drive a car in a realistic manner, i will go drive a car, when im gaming, i want arcade style car racing!
 
OP
Kenrou

Kenrou

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
I think it has become too unrealistic though, in some of the last games sports cars drive like trucks especially at high speeds. Can barely turn some, seems like I'm being forced to drift everywhere.
 

JLK03F150

What have I done! Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Georgia
I remember older demos of NFS not even having any support for a wheel, which I used most of the time. That really turned me against the series. I think EA decided that PC gamers should just learn to use an xbox controller.
 
OP
Kenrou

Kenrou

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Wouldn't know, always used keyboard + mouse for every game...
 

dyckah

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Yupp! NFS with a keyboard and mouse is where it's at! You want realism, go play a racing sim, not an arcade racer!
 
OP
Kenrou

Kenrou

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
But I like some arcade racers, still think Crazy Taxy is brilliant even with all the original bugs ;) and my arcade days were over as soon as I got my Amiga 500, awesome computer when you had the right rom/mem combo.
 
Last edited: