• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New OCer on i5, is it too hot??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

vincentmoy

Registered
Hi all,

I am new to the forum and I'm fairly new to OC too. I just got an i5 system built and I tried to OC it to 3.675Ghz (21*175), vcore was about 1.26. Idle @ low 40s, under load (Prime 95 Large FFT) shoot up to high 70s

Now I'm doing 3.4Ghz (20*170), vcore 1.18. Idle about same, under load (same) it goes down to low 70s.

Is it too hot?

IMG_0904-1.jpg

^
Running 3.6Ghz @ vcore 1.26

IMG_0906.jpg

^
Running 3.4Ghz @ vcore 1.18

Ben333

Folding for Team 32!
I wouldn't call it TOO hot, some people probably would. I wouldn't run it much hotter than that though, not past the 70s. What kind of cooling do you have? Maybe you could lower those temps a little with a remount of your heatsink / waterblock.

OP
V

vincentmoy

Registered
I wouldn't call it TOO hot, some people probably would. I wouldn't run it much hotter than that though, not past the 70s. What kind of cooling do you have? Maybe you could lower those temps a little with a remount of your heatsink / waterblock.

I tried that many times already. I got a Bestbuy brand Rocketfish Universal CPU Cooler.

dgb303

Yeah man I'd look into getting a better cooler, and possibly improving case circulation. 70's aren't necessarily too hot but those voltages shouldn't be yielding those temperatures.

OP
V

vincentmoy

Registered
OK... so I put in the stock just to see what it will look like, the idle temp @ 3.4 shot right up to the 50 :shrug: Then I tried to put it back to stock clock and volt, except I didn't put the energy saver things back on (C1E, speedspet, etc.) and STILL the idle temp with stock fan is around high 40s, low 50s