• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

new ram choices

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
ok buying new ram next week. heres my choices.
corsair 3200c2
twinmos 3200
twinmos is a few bucks more but not much.

i saw the twinmos useses winbond 5ns chips, ive read they dont do as well as the 6ns winbond the corsair uses for overclocking.

any thoughts or ideas? id like to try what other dont have is why im considering the twinmos. i dont think id be disapointed as the reviews i saw show its more than upto snuff.

anythoughts before i go slammen a few bengamins away?
 

JaY_III

Senior of BX
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
just rember that thier is no such thing as PC3200 and it is nothing more than overclocked PC2700....

Many people have little or no luck getting so called PC3200 to hit 200FSB....

I personally am not a big supporter of NON-SPEC RAM.
It CAN NOT be installed with any other RAM, so if you only plan to run 1 stick MAX in the system.....

Well i would still PERSONALY just buy top of the line PC2700 as it is cheaper and the same stuff as this so called PC3200
 

attack

Member
Joined
May 23, 2002
? I don't know about that PC3200 not hitting 200. Maybe OC'ers but i'd say the vast majority of corsair PC3200 sticks C2.5 or C2 have been hitting the 200 mark.

Also I'm not questioning you about there only being "true" PC2700, but what makes that true, isn't it simply just not a JDEC standard? They can make chips that are faster then 166mhz consistantly, but just not 200fsb yet so isn't that why there it's not a standard?

Think of it like CPU's, there bin assorted, and the high quality ones become the PC3500 and then on down the line...would that that be fair to say?
 
OP
deathstar13

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
ajrettke id say you was correct in your statements.

jay i apreciate your insight but look at this http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProdu...147&manufactory=1077&DEPA=1&sortby=14&order=1

if ui notice the 3200 or ddr400 what is stated.
yeh its not a standard yet as jedec goes.
and also im doubting people are having a hard time hitting 200fsb with corsair 3200.im doing 202fsb on my 2100.if they are having problems is a Id10t operater problem or faulty ram.

anyone have thoughts on the winbond 5ns chips?
 

JaY_III

Senior of BX
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Memory has many internal times that have to work with the chipset and such, and it thier is alot more than just the MHz it can run at that makes up RAM. Take PC2100 vs PC2700 internal memory timings the chipset uses are not the same.

Now if one company makes PC3200 with timings "A" and another makes PC3200 with timings "B" (this does happen) this is were all the trouble happen... And it only gets worse as this chipset guesses at the PC3200 with timings "C"

And they CAN makes CPUs with 200 FSB. They COULD makes CPU's with a 3.06GHz FSB and a 1x mutliplier, its just that no RAM can keep up.

Intel will be moving to an official 200 FSB about the same time DDR-II comes along....

So Current RAM rated for 200FSB, just take it with a grain of salt
 

JaY_III

Senior of BX
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Rich_T said:


What does JDEC mean?

Thanks

Rich_T
Joint Electron Device Engineering Council
www.JEDEC.org

from jedec.org
"JEDEC was originally created in 1960 as a joint activity between EIA an NEMA, to cover the standardization of discrete semiconductor devices and later expanded in 1970 to include integrated circuits"
 

JaY_III

Senior of BX
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
emericanchaos said:
i thought the 2 timings for pc3200 were cl2 and cl 2.5. the cl2 being true pc3200.

thier are also many INTERNAL RAM timmings
http://www.members.shaw.ca/jordanstella/JESD79R2.pdf

That is the standard for DDR
Check out Table 9 on page 48 (adobe says 54)
and Table 10 (next page)

and you can clearly see how PC2700(DDR 333) differs from PC2100(DDR 266) and PC1600(DRR200)

Just becuase the RAM can run at a HIGHER MHz than ratted doesnt change the internal timmings the RAM was made to run at.
 

{PMS}fishy

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
masitti said:
So then if the PC3200 is just overclocked 2700, then what would the PC3500 be? :confused:

Overclocked 2700. To my knowledge there are only 3 Official Speeds for DDR. 1600/2100/2700
 

{PMS}fishy

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
emericanchaos said:


ok so if i could find some pc2700 at CL2 than i could essentially get the same performance as a pc3500 stick?

Its all luck. Buy a good brand for their support. If you get 2700 and it only goes to 166 then you're screwed. The memory reaches its claim. Go for the faster stuff if you really want to run 200+ FSB otherwise cross your fingers and get some good 2700.
 

hc1001

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2002
Location
NY
well just remember that corsair guarantees ur memory to run at the specified speeds it advertises....pc2700 only gurantees DDR333..... so if u buy corsair pc3200C2 and it doesnt work @ ddr400 at 2-3-3-6 then u can return it for another stick
 

Silversinksam

Moderator/ Silver Paste Taster©
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Location
Sunshine State, USA
hc1001 said:
well just remember that corsair guarantees ur memory to run at the specified speeds it advertises....pc2700 only gurantees DDR333..... so if u buy corsair pc3200C2 and it doesnt work @ ddr400 at 2-3-3-6 then u can return it for another stick

As will Mushkin, but If it were me I'd go with the Corsair
 

nikhsub1

Unoriginal Macho Moderator
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Location
Los Angeles
deathstar13 said:
anyone have thoughts on the winbond 5ns chips?
A couple of things... JDEC has not certified DDR 400 (3200) this DOES NOT mean that there is not true 3200 ram out there. Before JDEC certified 2700, there was TRUE 2700 around. I have Corsair 3500C2, OCZ EL 3500, Mushkin 3000 and some Twinmos single sided with Winbond 5ns chips. The Twinmos runs with the tightest timings at FSB 200 than any of my others. Currently at 4-2-2-2 with the A7N8X dual channel, sync with the Twinmos, the others require 7-3-3-2 to run in THIS board at that speed. Caper has an 8RDA+ with the same Twinmos with winbond chips running at 236FSB!!! www.memoryx.com has 256MB sticks for $76. Make SURE to call to demand the winbond chips, you don't want Samsung. I called last week and said I would absolutely return the ram if it did not have the 5ns Winbond chips, it does.
 

TheFrag

Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2002
jay said:
just rember that thier is no such thing as PC3200 and it is nothing more than overclocked PC2700....

Many people have little or no luck getting so called PC3200 to hit 200FSB....

I personally am not a big supporter of NON-SPEC RAM.
It CAN NOT be installed with any other RAM, so if you only plan to run 1 stick MAX in the system.....

Well i would still PERSONALY just buy top of the line PC2700 as it is cheaper and the same stuff as this so called PC3200

I am sorry, but I cannot agree. If you want something that you want to do 200 fsb, get pc3200. If it doesnt do 200fsb you can return it. I know it is just overclocked pc2700, but it is higher end then the others and therefore better. Just because it isnt official, doesnt make it the same as the official ones.

Like the guy way up above me said, they sort it out to what can do what and then they distibute it like that. That is why I believe in getting some pc3200. If they do this and the pc2700 falls short, than it most likely wont handle as high of an fsb as pc3200.
 

drewthomas14

Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2002
Location
Fort Wayne, IN
nikhsub1 said:

A couple of things... JDEC has not certified DDR 400 (3200) this DOES NOT mean that there is not true 3200 ram out there. Before JDEC certified 2700, there was TRUE 2700 around. I have Corsair 3500C2, OCZ EL 3500, Mushkin 3000 and some Twinmos single sided with Winbond 5ns chips. The Twinmos runs with the tightest timings at FSB 200 than any of my others. Currently at 4-2-2-2 with the A7N8X dual channel, sync with the Twinmos, the others require 7-3-3-2 to run in THIS board at that speed. Caper has an 8RDA+ with the same Twinmos with winbond chips running at 236FSB!!! www.memoryx.com has 256MB sticks for $76. Make SURE to call to demand the winbond chips, you don't want Samsung. I called last week and said I would absolutely return the ram if it did not have the 5ns Winbond chips, it does.
so they will actually go handpick it? if so that is awesome and im ordering from them
 

nikhsub1

Unoriginal Macho Moderator
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Location
Los Angeles
drewthomas14 said:

so they will actually go handpick it? if so that is awesome and im ordering from them
No but if you tell them you ONLY want Winbond chips, they will make sure and you can specify on the order page in the comments section, say "I want Winbond chips, that is what the salesman told me it was (insert sales guy name here) and if it is not winbond chips, I will be returning the ram".