• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New To Linux

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Cheesy Peas

Hi all, as the title says im a newbee to linux, but have decided to give it a go.

I have read the sticky and put it in my favourites for future reference.

My question is about which distribution i should download, after looking round at linuxiso i have no clue to which one i should download.

I just want someething that will give me an insight into linux, so which one would you recomend the best for total noobs?

Thanx, feel free to give me advice also, :)

cheers!!

Kieron

Legend911

Newbie Linux

I want to possible use XP Server 2003 and Linux together. I have downloaded Arklinux from a site. Is this a good version of Linux or should I get mandrake too. And where can I find a download for it?:D

Titan386

The popular wisdom is for newbies to start out with Red Hat, Mandrake, or Suse. These distros tend to assume the least amount of Linux knowledge. Some things, like the partition naming scheme, they will assume you know.

That said, you can start out with any distro. It just depends on how much you are willing to learn. Debian, Gentoo, and Slackware are considered more difficult, but if you want to learn a lot about Linux, I would suggest going with one of those. Patience will probably be required though, as there is quite a learning curve.

OP
Cheesy Peas

Cheesy Peas

OK, thanx for the suggestions, im going to dual boot with XP and one of these. Im currently runnin a 20G maxtor for my XP and programs but ive got a 10g fujitsu im using for storage of downloads etc.

Am i better of sticking the downloads onto the main drive and running a clean partition for linux?

Chrisdafu