• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED New to overclocking Issues with stable vcore setting...among other things.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

faxi

Registered
Hey guys faxi here,

As the tittle says I'm new to OC'ing. I've done very minimal amounts before, but I really didn't learn much I just lucked out by adjusting the multiplier and not having to screw with the voltage or fsb.
I'm trying to OC my AMD phenom 9950 BE to around 3.0 ghz.
I've read this should be easily obtainable. But there are several screwy things that happen when i try to do it.
First I started by slowly upping the fsb until it crashed then went back down until i found a stable spot then i raised the multiplier and voltage (i read a guide on this forum). The process of how it should work, I understand. What I don't get is once I have a spot where it seems like it could be stable I check the cpu voltage and it is completely off of what i set it too in bios ( i use Cpu-Id and HW monitor). For example i set the fsb at 230 with a vcore of 1.35v and a multiplier of 13x when i got into windows and looked the voltage was at 1.31 also when i began to stress test it (with prime95) the voltage began to drop! it went down to 1.28v and the temps were quickly rising to 60c. i quickly turned off prime95 and went and cried in the corner for a second before going back to this evil box called a computer.

Another strange thing was the default voltage before I started messing with settings what around 1.31v but now when i set everything back to auto it runs at 1.36-1.37v. weird.