• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to Overclocking the Corei7 920

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

twiggy159

I want to overclock my Core i7 to overclock my ram from 796. But I can't seem to get the ram settings over 796 unless I overclock my CPU from 2.66. Can someone help me out on how to overclock the CPU to a stable clock? I tried doing it myself but it is pretty different from overclocking Q6600s which I haven't dealt with much myself. I'm afraid to touch anything without a little guidance. Please help me out with this, thank you.

Twiggy

bda1967

What RAM are you using? I'm not very good at explaining things in writing so I'll give you what I have and hopefully the other members can chime in with their knowledge. Here are some notes to help you out that I saved from my OC spreadsheet.

CPU Freq=Bclk x Mult.
4000MHZ=200 x 20

Uncore Freq=Bclk x 2(Memory Mult.)
FREQ=BCLK x[2(MULT)]
3200=200 x [2(8)]
Uncore must always be at least 2x the memory or 2x+1

Mem Freq=Bclk x Mem Mult (Usually a 2:8 ratio)
1600=200 x 8
DRAM can exceed 1.6v IF the Uncore Freq and DRAM freq are within .5 volts of each other.

QPI Freq=Bclk x QPI Mult
FREQ=BCLK x MULT
7200=200 x 36 (or 7.2 GT/s)
Use lowest QPI Multiplier usually 36.

Here's a link to a Nehalem Calculator that I found on-line to help you play with the settings before you actually do it. http://icrontic.com/apps/nehalem-calc/

Use these threads to help you determine the safe voltages for your motherboard, CPU and RAM

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=631454

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=630105

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=629461

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=630495

Finally here are some links to help you with i7 overclocking.