• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New XSPC build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Hilight

New XSPC build

Hi everyone,
I'm considering moving to a water cooling rig for my AMD 8350. Although I've been building and clocking computers for many years and ran a vapochill rig for several years, this will be my first water cooled build. I've looked over the stickies here on OCForums and around the web for advice. For this first build, plan on cooling just the CPU. The rig will be running 24/7. My current air cooled setup gets me 4.7Ghz at 1.48v 24/7 and I'm looking to squeak a couple hundred more mhz out of it for everyday use and more stability for benching at high Ghz. It's reported the RS360 improves on high-end air by around 10c. My current heatsink performs within a few degrees of a D-14. Any advice you can give would be greatly appreciated. Following is the setup I'm considering. Thanks in advance.

Water cooling kit: XSPC Raystorm RS360 120.3
http://www.frozencpu.com/products/1...cluded_w_Free_Dead-Water.html?tl=g30c321s1310

I've chosen this kit over an RX360 over concern with having enough space at the top of the case for the push-pull fans as the RS360 radiator is not as thick as the RX360.

Case: Coolermaster HAF-X
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119225

I'm planning on setting it up with 2 200x25mm fans on top of the radiator and 3 120x25mm corsair fans underneath it.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835181027
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835345031

The Corsair fans run at 2350rpm and are said to have high static pressure
here is a recent review recommending them
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/coolers/display/120mm-fan-roundup-4.html