• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie ALERT!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

trendx

Today on newegg.com i just bought my Albatron Ti4200P Turbo. Im not a complete newbie, but i just want to make sure i do things right after spending around $200 on this card! So please help me answer a few questions of feel free to give me a few tips...

Do i download my drivers from the official albatron site or the official nvidia site?

Where do i go to overclock this card, what program, how far to push it with stock cooling? I would like to keep it safe and running a long time, i dont wanna push it too far and risk anything.

Any other things i should know?

Maxvla

drivers you should hang around here to get the scoop on the best drivers. usually we get our drivers from www.guru3d.com unless they are official nvidia releases we'll get them from www.nvidia.com

you need a tweaking program such as Geforce Tweak Utility, RivaTuner (my choice), or other programs also found at www.guru3d.com/files

typical results with the ti4200 is 50-75mhz gpu and 75-125mhz memory gains. your results may vary. i have seen the albatron turbo card such as yours into the 700's on memory. the best way to keep a functional overclocked video card is cooling, more cooling, and more cooling. the nice thing about video card overclocking... is if it isn't going towork it will reboot your computer so that the card is not damaged.

Also.. WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!!!

just do a TON of reading here and you'll be a master in no time. :)

the typical benchmark we use here is 3dmark2001se available at www.madonion.com

TheFrag