• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie Cooling Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DesertSoft

First of all, this is a great site. I am a newbie to OC'ing and this site has been a great help. Way to go overclockers.com!!!

I just got a P4 2.6c w/ a Asus p4p800 Deluxe MB. I currently have it OC'ed to 3.1.

My CPU temp temp under idle ranges from 29 - 32 C. When I put it under load the CPU jumps up to 48 - 52 C. Is this normal? I really don't like the huge increase. I hear a lot of people talking about a 5 - 10 degree increase, not a 20.

I am using the stock HSF that came with the processor. I got rid of the thermal pad and applied Arctic Silver 5. I have one 80 mm intake fan & one 80 mm outtake fan. I also cut away the gridding for the intake fan mount to try to increase airflow. The fans are CoolerMaster fans. They have a RPM of 2500 and a CFM of 32.11. I was thinking about getting some better fans that will give me more CFM. Any ideas?

If I take my case side off I see about a 4-degree drop in temperature. Does this mean I need better outtake fans?

How about PCI slot blowers? Are these worth the trouble?

Thanks for the help. I am just a newbie trying to be like the big boys!!!!

First of all, get rid of that stock HSF and get a Thermalright SP-94.