• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

newbie here, any suggestions for change?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

texmex9

Hi all,

About to order from cyberpower. I want to check out their overclocking when I get it. Any suggestions for change? I'm not a big gamer, just SCII right now. I do software development (mulit-threaded) using c#, c++, and python, and I have to deal with Matlab quite a bit because that's what the boss uses and we get to translate :( Computational speed is paramount. I want to have a Ubuntu virtual machine for development. 3D is not huge polygon count, relatively modest actually. Here's the list:

BLUETOOTH: None
BUNDLE: None

CARE1: Ultra Enhanced Packaging Solution - Protect Your Dream System During Transit [+19]
CARE2: CoolerMaster Thermal Fusion 400 Extreme Performance CPU - Thermal Compound Optimized for Thermal Dissipation [+10]
CARE3: Professional Wiring for All WIRING Inside The System Chassis - Minimize Cable Exposure, Maximize Airflow in Your System [+19]

CAS: * Corsair Obsidian Series 700D Full Tower Gaming Case w/ 3x 140mm fans [+135]
CASUPGRADE: None

CD: Samsung SH-B123L 12X BLU-RAY Player & DVDRW Combo [+67] (BLACK COLOR)
CD2: None

CPU: [Special] Intel(R) Core™ i7-950 3.06 GHz 8M Intel Smart Cache LGA1366

CS_FAN: Default case fans
FA_HDD: Vigor iSURF II Hard Disk Drive Cooling System [+21] (2 x Systems [+27])
FAN: Asetek 550LC Liquid Cooling System 120MM Radiator & Fan (Advanced Cooling Performance + Extreme Silent at 20dBA) [+18]

FLASHMEDIA: INTERNAL 12in1 Flash Media Reader/Writer [+10] (BLACK COLOR)

FLOPPY: None
GLASSES: None

HDD: 80GB Corsair Force 80 Gaming MLC Solid State Disk [+188] (80GB x 2 (160GB Capacity) Raid 0 Extreme Performance [+253])