• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie needs advice!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Peter-griffin

Registered
Hey...this is my first post here, and I need some help...

When it comes to hardware, I'm a total newbie. Pretty much a newb with software, too. I game a lot on my Vaio (PCV RX550) and I need a bit of help upping it's performance without dishing out cash. I wanna overclock the thing, and I don't have a clue how to.

I can give you guys the specs, hopefully you guys can give me the help i need :-\

BIOS Award Software, Inc. ACPI BIOS Revision 1004 10/18/2001
System Board ASUSTeK Computer INC. P4B-LX REV 1.xx

Processor:

Brand/Model Intel Pentium 4
Nominal Clock Speed 1494 MHz
Measured Clock Speed 1500 MHz
External Clock Speed 100 MHz
CPUID Information 0x0F12 0x3FEBFBFF
CPU Load 1%
Level 1 Cache 32 KB
Level 2 Cache 256 KB

I'm seriously clueless. I tried SoftFSB but apparently the version I got is ancient, as it only had ASUS mobo's up to P2B...

Hopefully I can get this thing to at least 1.6ghz. I just need a pretty much step by step pamphlet for this :p. I don't mind taking the blame for breaking it...and I know hot to get into BIOS and check core temperature and stuff, but I can't get to the damned clock speed adjustment thing.

Please help me out here!

Peter-Griffin

Why are you messing with SoftFSB, just go into the BIOS and bump up your FSB to maybe 112 MHz.

you should od some research nad learn as much as u can about the stuff u have first. Thats what i did, and i still dont know some of the more technical stuff with a motherboard.

I can't change FSB in my bios (AwardBIOS 1004 10/2001). All i can do is monitor temps and FSB's while watching 1500mghz stand omninously untouched.