• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

newbie p4 help please

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gorilly

hi all,

being a student im too poor to afford a new processor to go along with all the new bits i have got recently... (DFI LanParty PRO875B, HIS9800pro ICEQ, Coolermaster aero4, a ram sink, new case, uv lights, games etc). My next buy is going to be some kingston ram (my bro works there so i get it cchheeaapp and my current RAM is 1X256MB 266Mhz BUDGET RAM).

anyway i want to overclock my old P4 2Ghz(100X4FSB), not to a stupidly high speed but just something to give me a stable boost.

so i started playing around with it tonight.

So far i have 2.31Ghz but making the FSB 115X4, i then lost my sound but all was fixed after changing something to 66/33. i have noticed my ram freq has changed now to 305mhz.... is this safe? will my budget ram give up? i was under the impression that even though the front side bus speed has changed the ram would still run at its factory speed?

i tested my processor for half an hour with 'CPU Stability Test Copyright 1999-2000 Jouni Vuorio.' and it said no errors but i have noticed windows explorer has started crashing... or maybe i have picked up some spyware.. anyway

well if anyone has any suggestions id be greatful.

thanks for any help and remember this is my first try!

ohh and its running at just under 40deg C, whats the norm temp for a old p4?

Foxie3a

Normal Member
Temperatures... Dont look at idle temps, look at full load temps.

FSB = The speed in which the processor communicates to the northbridge, and then the RAM. So all three of those are being overclocked, along with your PCI and AGP busses.

Some motherboards, like my P4P800 have locks so that you can run the PCI and AGP at stock speeds, while still increasing the FSB.