• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie question :)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Daniel F

Registered
Hello, i am a newbie to the overclocking world :) and i have an ASUS P3V133 motherboard, and the cpu sits on a card (dunno what it is called) that sticks out of the motherboard. SO what i am trying to get at is.... since i am able to stick a heatsink and fan combo on both sides of the cpu, should i? would it do anything to help keep it cool? Please reply with any tips.. Thanks

Daniel

If I get you right, you would like to to stick a second HSF (heat sink/fan) to the the back of your CPU daughtercard. Well, as I imagine it, the second heat sink will be in contact of the daughtercard's "PCB", which is not a good heat conductor. To improve cooling, a good heatsink/fan like an alpha or a globalwin alone or in combination with a peltier. In a nice COOL well ventilated case would be a better performance improvement.

But maybe I didn't understand want you meant, perhaps some further explanation of your setting/plan or some picts would help us help you...

Keep going...

OK, you're on a slotket (the daughtercard), and appear to have room for something like an Alpha PEP66, which is designed for these situations. Exactly what processor do you have? Also, I think I'm seeing sticks in your first two DIMM slots. Are all three full? If not, you might be able to go to slots 2 and 3 and give yourself a little wiggle room with the HSF.

And as Ammethyl said, you don't need to try to cool the back of the slotket, only the side with the processor. What kind of slotket is it, by the way? I see jumpers.

huh?