• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

NF7-M? does it oc as good as the -S?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

skinart

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2002
Location
Canada
My bro messed up and orderd the -M and i was wondering if it is any good or should he take it back?

Chad
 

^wargod

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Location
MD
it's exactly the same as the NF7-S and NF7 except the -M has onboard video, same chipset, you're fine.
 
OP
S

skinart

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2002
Location
Canada
what about if its a ver 1.21? I cartn belive he messed up, and they charged him $175 (Aussie $$) thats like $130 U.S

I hate ppl ripping other ppl off, especially my freinds, wish i was there to pull someone accross the counter and fix em up a lil.

Chad
 

tom10167

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2003
Location
Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT
Come to think of it, I don't know if they offer 2.0 in any other board except the -s. See if the board supports 400mhz FSB.

By the way, I don't think it has intergrated video(I wish, I would've gotten it.) just no SATA or one other thing that you probably won't need. So long as it supports 400mhz you're fine.
 

Robin Hood

Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2002
Location
Nottingham
I have just order both an NF7 and NF7-S.
I did looked at the NF7-M but Abit's website gave me the impression that it was not using the latest chip set as its specs had not been updated in the same way.
Though I don't see why they wouldn't update all three together!

Edit - just seen tom's post, both NF7 and NF7-S are 2.0.
 

iplayguitar

Registered
Joined
Nov 26, 2003
the nf7-m has the nforce2 igp chipset. I could only get my 2500+ up to 185fsb. Its like a pre 2.0 nf7 just it have integrated video although asus is now making a mobo with the igp chipset that can handle 400fsb so I think abit might have a nf7-m 2.0 in the works right now. now if you already have a vid card return the nf7-m and get a nf7-s 2.0 so you can overclock.
 
OP
S

skinart

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2002
Location
Canada
Well apperently he carnt return it coz it was a special order :(

but one good thing is, he is getting 190 fsb with a locked 25+ with 3 sticks of crappy pc2100 with stock voltages :)

it has a stock heatsink and is hitting 55c with prime running.

he is brand new to oc'ing thats why he made the mistake with the board, but i think if he gets a single stick of good ram and a good HS fan combo itll be ok :) I hope

Chad
 

Martin Rubenste

Registered
Joined
Jan 1, 2004
Location
Alamogordo,N.M.
He should have no problem oc'ing the NF7-M. Mine goes up to 237 MHz. (x2 = 474 FSB possable) and multiplier up to 22. The onboard graphics are not to bad eather, GForce4 MX. I run QuakeIII, Halo & UT2003 for hours with no problems.
 
OP
S

skinart

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2002
Location
Canada
WELCOME TO THE FORUMS Martin....


and thank you for the reply......sounds like the onboard vid is a good bargain for the price of the board an all...... now all he has to do is get some good ram and he will be right :)

Chad
 

StinkNBreff

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2003
I think the board stops at 180'ish fsb if you use onboard video . Otherwise if an AGP video card is used - onboard is disabled and over 200 is easy ?
 

Martin Rubenste

Registered
Joined
Jan 1, 2004
Location
Alamogordo,N.M.
Yeh, 180MHz is the limit I hit. 200MHz = a black screen, a hard poweroff for 60 sec., a pounding heart / waiting for a reboot :( , then letting the computer assure itself that the HD really DIDN'T expload :D , then reset everything :p .