• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

nf7-s and buffalo bh-5 pc3700 problems

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Goodyer

Registered
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Location
Toronto, Canada
i bought this ram off someone i know, who had it running at 235 fsb stable at 11,2,2,2 timings on an nf7-s. but i cant seem to get it to run past 225 fsb without getting prime95 errors within the first ten minutes. ive taken the ram to 242 fsb into windows, so i dont think there should be that much of a gap between max into windows, and stable. or is it just me? im not very experienced with tweaking ram etc. if anynoe has any suggestions could you let m e know, thanks.
 

Como

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2003
Location
Maine
whats your ram voltage at? and is there a chance it was damaged statically?
 
OP
G

Goodyer

Registered
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Location
Toronto, Canada
sorry forgot to mention voltages, its at 2.9. the ram was only a week or two old when i got it. it was in the proper packaging when i got it also. i installed it with minimal contact to it and was grounded.
 

wannaoc

Member
Joined
May 6, 2003
Location
Buried in UPS packages
When I was running that ram it took 3.0V for me to get my timings tight and my speeds above 220 so I would say your doing fine. Remember milage varies between every machine, just because your friend did it doesn't mean you can.
 

Gautam

Senior Benchmark Addict
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Location
SF Bay Area
The NF7 overvolts memory by .01, so you're actually running at 3.0v. Make sure you've got CPU Interface enabled, and all spread spectrum options disabled.
 
OP
G

Goodyer

Registered
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Location
Toronto, Canada
ive notced with CPU Interface enabled the fsb cant go as high, but when the fbs is maxed out with it both enabled or disabled, the memory bandwidth benchmark is the same pretty much in SiSoftware Sandra so i dont think there would be much difference. what do all spread spectrum options do?

thanks for the replys guys
 

Cyrix_2k

Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2003
Location
Frederick, MD
Spread Spectrum varies the speed of the System bus inorder to keep electro-magnetic interference down. I believe it's so it can pass the FCC's test's easier. Basically, you want to keep it turned off as it can destabilize an oc'd computer.

Feel free to correct anything that I said.
 

mrspec3

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Location
Tallinn, Estonia
If prime is failing then its more likely a motherboard/cpu voltage thing. Test the ram in memtest to see if you get problems there before you test prime
 
OP
G

Goodyer

Registered
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Location
Toronto, Canada
well i tried using memtest86 at 228 fsb and i got a bunch of errors after a few minutes, but at 225 it seems stable. i guess that isnt too bad. after this i finnaly OCed my cpu got it to [email protected], i think thats normal for a 1700 dutc3 0302?