• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

nforce2 temps.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

creepy

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2003
Location
tn
Im gettin a new mobo for xmas w/ nforce2 chipset and i was just curious what temps this chipset runs at seeing that everyone says the run hot.
 
OP
C

creepy

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2003
Location
tn
ah....thats not too bad compared to what people say...i have a kt400 running at 35ºc
 

crimedog

Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2003
Location
South of Boston
I get about 38C load with a iceberq4 cooler, but it's freaking hot here (not to mention my cpu is hotter than blazes)

i can't wait to water cool, although I'm keeping the iceberq4, don't think it requires anything more
 

repilce

Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Location
E600000 - E60000FF
the southbridge on my mobo (in sig) uses the main kt400chpset and it stays around 38 or so , but my southbridge get's up to around 41-43C sometimes! :mad:
 
OP
C

creepy

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2003
Location
tn
My soutbridge w/ the kt400 never gets "hot" although it does get a bit warm to the touch sometimes....and it actually doesnt even get airflow beacuse its being covered up by an ide cable even though it still just gets warm to the touch (w/o heatsink) i put a heatsink on there anyway just for fun.
 

johan851

Insatiably Malcontent, Senior Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
There's no temperature sensor for the NF7-S, is there? Are you guys getting your chip temps with a probe?
 

crimedog

Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2003
Location
South of Boston
i also assumed you meant NB

i'm going to be throwing my stock cooler on the SB soon, better to overkill than have crackly speakers
 

dalilman52

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2003
Location
Houston
WOAH! u mean stock amd cooler? thats even over kill for ur NB, u should put a really small hs, the sb hardly ever gets hot...geez, thats crazy to put something that big on the SB
 
OP
C

creepy

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2003
Location
tn
i put a sk-7 on there.... :sarcasm: no its just a simple little chipset one
 
OP
C

creepy

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2003
Location
tn
dalilman52 said:
ooo u meant NB stock cooler :understands: ....amd stock cooler on it would be....incredibly pointless

yea haha....that would be funny to see though
 
OP
C

creepy

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2003
Location
tn
hahaha welllllll......i just remembered.....a long time ago when i was NEW w/ computers like i barley knew anything i could install a video card etc etc i had bought a hsf for a 2700+ i think and it turns out it wouldnt fit on my video card sooooo.....i figured i might as well put it on something that gets hot instead of letting it sit and go to waste and i actually stuck it onto the hs that was on my NB already.....hahahahahaha how embarrasing
 

dalilman52

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2003
Location
Houston
glued it? have u already removed it? if not, then stick the mobo in a anti-static bag, put it in the freezer, keep it in there for about 20 minutes and u should be able to pry it off easily

putting it in the freezer expands the thermal glue, making it brittle and easy to work with

if this doesnt work, stick it in the freezer again for another 20-30 minutes and it should be very easy to pry off, but remember, dont leave it on for over an hour, freezer burn or condensation may develop inside the mobo, like in little crevices and it may short circuit something, so be careful when doing this
 
OP
C

creepy

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2003
Location
tn
yea its been removed lol the board is old as ever and its prolly in a land fill by now...i fried it well over a year ago