• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

No beep when booting

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

webfreak

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Did you plug in the system speaker to the motherboard correctly? Did you disable the beep in the bios?
 
OP
kfunk

kfunk

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2003
did not touch anything. Computer booted fine yesterday. Not anymore. No starting BIOS beep either
 

JimmyG

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
Michigan
I assume that the computer doesn't boot up. If there are no beeps at all then you need to disconnect all drives and remove all cards except video. Remove all but one stick of RAM. Attempt to boot up. If it still doesn't boot, and there are no beeps, then remove the last RAM stick. Try to boot up. You should get some beeps. If not, then you may have either a bad CPU chip, a bad mobo, or a bad PSU. Try them in another computer if possible to determine the bad part.

If when you did the first boot above, it actually boots up, then you know that one of the cards or drives that you removed/disconnected is bad. Reinstall each part one at a time and reboot. The first part that prevents reboot is probably bad.
 

webfreak

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Sorry, I didn't assume that it didn't actually boot. I thought you meant it was booting but not beeping, as in the usual POST beep. :rolleyes:
 
OP
kfunk

kfunk

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2003
ok I took both sticks of ram out. I tried to boot. No beeps. I hear HD spin, 4 case fans spin, but no beeping sounds at all.
 

DaddyB

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2002
Location
Toronto, Canada
As I said over here it's probably a dead CPU, if it's a socket A board pop that xp1700 in it or try the CPU in question in that Abit board to see if it works.
 

The_man27

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Location
Lynn, MA
I had the same problem about 4 months ago... Turned out to be a dead motherboard (IS7). I RMAed it, and got a new one. Fixed the problem :)
 
OP
kfunk

kfunk

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2003
DaddyB said:
As I said over here it's probably a dead CPU, if it's a socket A board pop that xp1700 in it or try the CPU in question in that Abit board to see if it works.

I just found out it's not the CPU. I took the CPU from non-booting computer and installed it on my other computer. My other computer booted up fine.

So, it's not the CPU, took both memories out and still there was no beeping sounds. Dead motherboard then?

If no memory was detected when booting up, motherboard would make beeping noises right?
 

DaddyB

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2002
Location
Toronto, Canada
yeah it should beep if the cpu is good and there is no ram, since the cpu works in the other board my money is on the motherboard being the problem here, you can try the ram from your working system in the dead one with either cpu to be sure but at this point it really looks like a dead mobo.
 

Benno

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2002
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Mate before you go and rma the mobo, have you tried resetting the cmos, I have had the same propleem, reset the bioss and was up and running again. Also its not your pssu, cause your hard drives etc have power.

Clear the cmos before you do anything
 

gangrene

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2003
JimmyG said:
I assume that the computer doesn't boot up. If there are no beeps at all then you need to disconnect all drives and remove all cards except video. Remove all but one stick of RAM. Attempt to boot up. If it still doesn't boot, and there are no beeps, then remove the last RAM stick. Try to boot up. You should get some beeps. If not, then you may have either a bad CPU chip, a bad mobo, or a bad PSU. Try them in another computer if possible to determine the bad part.
i'm having the same problem

no beeps when i boot
i've tried taking out both my ram sticks and it does give me ram errors beeps. i've tested both my ram sticks in my friend's comp and it works.

i know my cpu is good because i've tried it on my friend's comp and it works.
i'm pretty sure my mobo works because i've just rma'ed my old one thinking it was the culprit, so i got a new mobo but still the same problem.
i know my hd works becuase i've tried it in my old comp.
the only thing i can think of now is it's a grounding problem, i'm gonna try to take the mobo out of the case and try to boot it.

is there any other possibilities?
 
OP
kfunk

kfunk

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2003
well my problem was a bad motherboard. Got a new board and my computer works fine now