• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

No $$$ for video RAMsinks???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Celeron_Phreak

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Well if you are like me, here's a great alternative...

Pull out your box of old fried motherboards and stuff and look around (mainly on the Socket 5-7 boards) for a heatsink of some sort near the CPU socket. That's teh heatsink for the voltage regulator. If you have a dremel, then you can cut them to your specifications. I plan to use some of these on the top of my card when I get the chance to cut them. I'll have pix soon too :).
 

q149

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Location
Japan
I have made 2 sets with old Pentium1 heatsinks. One are kind normal looking heatsinks and one was a giant heatsink like 3 times as big as the pentium, the ones I made from this are the biggest ramsinks i have ever seen. I used hacksaws(and no vice) to cut them up, this took hours though and was not easy.
 

Damian

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Location
Acton, MA
A hacksaw and vice took me a matter of minutes.

Result?
gf2.jpg
 
OP
Celeron_Phreak

Celeron_Phreak

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Looks nice. How well does that heatsink work for you? My dad gave me the one that he got with his Duron 950 and it's almost exactly the same. It needs lapping really bad though. It's soo uneven, that it only sits on about a third of the core.
 

Damian

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Location
Acton, MA
It's an old socket 7 heatsink. I coud o/c the core to about 217 or so (this was a Geforce 2 GTS, by the way) but this was most likely the card's fault and not cooling; this was a no-brand GTS whose default speeds were lower than spec. The heatsink was cool, to the touch, though... but then, it was a GF2.
 

q149

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Location
Japan
Yes but, i had no vice. Not to mention just the base of the heatsink i used is thicker than the height of those whole ramsinks.
 

Ec]-[oMaN

Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2002
Location
Toronto,Canada
once you put on ram sinks is there a way to get them off and using them again without destroying your ram chips,i want to buy 50$ ram sinks but if they cant come off damn thats just $$$blown
 

Cube

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2001
Location
Denver, Colorado, USA
If you use a thermal epoxy, some people say to put the card in the freezer (in a closed anti-static bag) and let it sit for an hour or more. Take it out and you should be able to GENTLY pry the ramsinks off. Then wait for a while before putting the card back in so that any condensation that occured has time to evaporate.
 

boffin2163

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2002
Location
U.K
ive heard that mixing the expoy with a small ammount of thermal paste before aplication makes the epoxy slightly weaker meaning it can be removed
 

Ec]-[oMaN

Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2002
Location
Toronto,Canada
thanks,but could i use like a sticky thermal pad and then when it gets heated up i might be able to take the sinks off?what things can you use to attach ram sinks to a vid card??
 

Damian

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Location
Acton, MA
Yodums said:
Curious, but what's with those elastic bands?

They served to attach the heatsink to the core... not exactly the best method. The heatsink once fell off when I was using the card :D

Soon after this pic, though, I epoxied the heatsink on.
 
OP
Celeron_Phreak

Celeron_Phreak

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Ugh. When AMD Phreak and I were applying the epoxy to our RAM sinks we were talking about how "dumb" it'd be for someone to epoxy a heatsink to a GPU core. Looks like I was wrong. And now that I think about it, that isn't a bad idea. I mean, if there's no other way to attatch it, I guess that's really your only alternative.
 

Damian

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Location
Acton, MA
I used the four-corners trick, only applying epoxy to the corners and covering the rest with ASIII. It works fine.
 

attack

Member
Joined
May 23, 2002
well there's enough surface tension from most thermal pastes like AS III and arctic alumina to keep ramsinks on, if you bump em they move, but just use AA and it's no big deal....I wish I had a digital camera, I'd show ya my cak38 (450g copper HSF) that I mounted on without epoxy or rubber bands!!!
 

JigPu

Inactive Pokémon Moderator
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Location
Vancouver, WA
For those of you who don't have some dead mobos to gut, here's another possible RAMsink for you.

Back when my Radeon 8500 was still alive and kicking, I used staple-gun staples to get an aditional 20MHz out of the RAM. Now, I know what you're thinking... STAPLES?!?! Yeah! They're exactly the same width as the chips (or at least the rectangular chips on the 8500... which should be the same dimensions as all other rectangular RAM chips), and can be broken off to any length you want. AS them in place, and turn up the clock :)

It probably won't work quite as good as a 'real' heatsink, but those staple-gun staples have some surface area to them, and depending on what kind they are, can have more or less area (technically, I think normal staples will work, but they have very little area).

[/speil older members have already heard]
JigPu
 

R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3

Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Location
New York
Damian said:
It's an old socket 7 heatsink. I coud o/c the core to about 217 or so (this was a Geforce 2 GTS, by the way) but this was most likely the card's fault and not cooling; this was a no-brand GTS whose default speeds were lower than spec. The heatsink was cool, to the touch, though... but then, it was a GF2.

i think i know what that card is, because i might be using the same one, i have a Visiontek Geforce2 GTS-V, looks a lot like it

V for value i guess, which explains why the default speed 175/286(143) is lower than the usual GTS stock of 200/333(166.5), the stock heatsink/fan looks smaller than yours tho, but i suspect you're not using stock, i pried the hsf off and as-epoxied it back on as well as epoxied thermaltake ramsinks, have it clocked with no artifacts at all at 201.2/343.6(171.8), the epoxy takes 20 minutes to set although it says 5, moves when bumped when not set
 

broken003

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Ec]-[oMaN said:
once you put on ram sinks is there a way to get them off and using them again without destroying your ram chips,i want to buy 50$ ram sinks but if they cant come off damn thats just $$$blown

if anyone is looking for a cheaper alternative to the $50 ramsinks, I could possibly cut up some Al heatsinks to any custom size for much cheaper and I think they will look pretty good. Then you wont feel so guilty about using AS adhesive and hooking them on. PM me if you want to try to work something out.