• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

No wifi connection in Wireshark

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Time-Bandit

Hi all,

I have just installed the wireshark application to my machine to monitor wireless connection activity across my network however I only have the lan option available do I need some kind of hardware in my desktop to get this option to come up ? Tried on my parents laptop (they live elsewhere) and it had both lan and wireless options available if someone could advise me what I am missing that would be great might be a noobie question but as I said I am new to this type of software so slowly picking things up.

Tried installing wincap? I think it was called and aircap rebooted making no difference to things.

Regards,

Bandit.

JrClocker

AKA: JrMiyagi
If your desktop doesn't have a wireless card you won't get that option.

If your wireless and wired are connected through a switch/router on the same subnet...are they not the same thing? :D

OP
Time-Bandit

Time-Bandit

Makes perfect sense I thought this would be the answer I would get just had to make sure there was not something simple I could do other than have the wireless card to view the data.

Yes my wireless and wired run through the same router. For some reason I am not seeing any traffic from the wireless devices coming up however.

JrClocker

You'll definitely see any multicast traffic, but probably won't see any tcp/ip traffic.

In a switch/router, you wouldn't see any traffic that was switched to point b if you are connected to point a. You would see traffic on a plain hub though.

There are some applications for your smart phone that do something similar to wireshark.