• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Noob 4BDA2+ OCing ?s

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Sorondil

Registered
I have this for memory I am new to using DDR Memory

I assume I want these BIOS settings

DRAM Timing Set = Normal

CAS Latency Time = 3

Active to Prcharge Delay = 7

DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay = 3

DRAM RAS# Precharge = 3

Refresh Mode Select = ?

What does the "Spread Spectrum Modulate" do?

With my memory, should I use the 1:1 or 4:3 FSB setting?

At what kind of FSB did you have to change the Vcore, and/or Vagp, and/or DDR V adjust?

Your memory settings also depend on your system's specs

Have you o\ced your cpu?
What is your current fsb?

Post some details about your system

Thanks for all your help.

When I set the FSB to 140 Windos will start to boot and then freeze,

At FSB 139, I get BSOD and other errors.

Right now I an running at FSB 135.

Do I need to up the Vcore, the V DDR Adjust. Some how I don't think I need to adjust Vagp because I have the the PCI and AGP locked at their respective speeds.

First of all the 3-7-3-3 are the slowest memory timings. I have the Crucial also and I run it at 2-5-2-2 in turbo mode. Overclocking is all trial and error, if you get errors try raising your voltages for your CPU, memory, etc etc. if it doesnt help then back to default. Raising voltages can help with stability thats why you try them. At 140 FSB you might have certain things running too fast like your AGP and PCI bus, cause when up raise the FSB you overclock everything. Some motherboards have settings that lock your AGP and PCI bus to 33/66 to. Your AGP needs to be near the 66 and PCI not higher then 37 for the most part. As for your memory timings in regaurds to 1:1 or 4:3 that 4:3 is the fastest so try to get it running with that setting if possible.