• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Noob needs advice on old rig

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BrumieMatt

Hi ladies and gents

I'm a big noob to all of this so please excuse ant stupidity on my part.

I've always wanted to have my own built gaming PC and I've recently acquired an old rig for 50 quid of a friend of a friend.

It came with a few things, water cooler system GeForce GTX 280, AMD GV-R797TO-3GD.

The person I bought off is quite well versed in computers and let me know everything was working except two possible things that are stopping it from displaying anything.

Either processor or motherboard has burned out.

I've recently taken apart the water cooling system and have taken out the processes which is an Intel '06 Q9650. The motherboard is a generation 1 Rampage Extreme.

I've taken the processor to be tested but because it's an old CPU a lot of places dont have the equipment.

So the only thing I thought I could do is buy a cheap second hand processor that is compatible with the motherboard. So I've bought a Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 - 2.33GHz Quad-Core (LGA775) Processor SLG9S - SLB5M for fiver - my logic being if it boots up it is a CPU problem not a motherboard one, meaning I can invest in a proper replacement.

I'm prepared to scrap it if the problem is with the motherboard, but my hope was I can use this as a small project and hopefully get a year or so out of the rig. Before going off and buying new.

So I guess my question is will my 5 quid processor work to test the motherboard.

Cheers
Matt