• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Norton ghost 2001

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Raine

Registered
Joined
Jan 16, 2001
Has anyone tried to use norton ghost to image a raid 0 drive? I am enableing my RAID and i just don't want to give up my system recoverability
 

Tim-

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
North Carolina
As long as your RAID controller is hardware and not software, I think it should work ok. If you were using W2K RAID it probably wouldn't work, since the operating system has to be running first for RAID to function.
 
OP
R

Raine

Registered
Joined
Jan 16, 2001
Ya it's the raid controller on my kt7133A raid.......Anyway here goes nothing i'll post when i'm dona and let you know what happened

Wish Me Luck
Signing out
Raine
 

compaq_ML530

Registered
Joined
Apr 23, 2001
Norton Ghost 2001 fully supports "ghosting" hardware controlled RAID sets. I have done it several times with no problem.
 

Caffinehog

Übercaffinated Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Location
In the lab
Fully supports? Nope. They DON'T support it. It might work, but Norton warns you that it may not, and tells you not to do it with vital data. They tell you that it MIGHT work in some situations, and they give you suggestions, but they tell you explicitly that they do NOT support it.
 

Kendan

Senior Punk
Joined
Aug 27, 2001
Location
Dark side of hell
You are going to have to use your own boot disk too. The one Ghost makes won't read the array. At least with mine it didn't. This is on the board in my sig before I gave up on Raid 0. Good luck.
 

Caffinehog

Übercaffinated Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Location
In the lab
Hey, Kendan, How'd you do that? If we could get some kinds of details on how to make that disk along with any other useful info on ghost/raid, that would be awesome!