• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OC Needs more volt manually than with auto

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Xifios

Registered
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to overclocking cpus and i need your advice because i am really confused right now.
So i have been running my i7 3770k @4.2ghz for about 2 years now without any issues what so ever. However all I did back then was change my multiplier and then did some stress testing with checking my temps.
temperature wise everything was more or less fine, meaning i never noticed my temps to reaching 70 degrees while gaming.

Recently i decided i give overclocking another go and try to do it a bit more properly this time.
So what i did was follow this guide
I got to a point where i could get my 4.2ghz "stable" at 1.26V. Which seems pretty high when compared to others who can achive a higher multiplier with that amount of voltage. So I thought maybe I just got unlucky and got a chip that does not really like overclocking.

However I then tried something else just out of curiosity.I left my multiplier at 42 and changed my LLC back to auto and then did some benching.
The strange thing is that even under full load my vcore never went any higher than 1.24V at most according to HWMonitor.
Am I missing something here? Because when setting the voltage manually to 1.24 it wouldn't even let me boot into windows or at least crash while trying to log in.

Might this be somehow related to the fact that i set the LCC to extreme or is it something totally different like maybe false readings on HWMonitor or something else I need to take care of in the BIOS?

Like I said I am running a i7 3770k on a gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H

Thanks for your help.