• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OC Questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

elitevladek

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
specs:
intel E6750 @ 2.66ghz
4gb ddr2 ram
8600 gts

This is my first time overclocking and my goal is to get it up to 3.0ghz~3.2ghz; I managed to get it up to 2.8ghz and not anymore than that. I tried to go for 2.9 ghz and when i saved it, bios automatically switches cpu host clock control to disable and it goes back to stock speeds.

http://i33.tinypic.com/2ms1xt4.jpg
*PCI Express Frequency is set to 100 instead of auto as shown in the picture*

Do I need to increase my voltage? (I thought such a small oc wouldnt need an increase) and how?
-I tried changing my vcore by changing the cpu voltage control to 1.325 instead of normal but that didn't seem to have an effect, is it safe to do a larger voltage increase?
 
Last edited:

Tnlgg

Registered
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
The problem is your memory,its a 667MHz so if you raise the FSB you overclock the memory.

You must set the SPD to 2.0 if you have DDR2 800MHz.

For overclocking you must have DDR2 800MHz or 1066MHz.
 

MattNo5ss

5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
The problem is your memory,its a 667MHz so if you raise the FSB you overclock the memory.

You must set the SPD to 2.0 if you have DDR2 800MHz.

For overclocking you must have DDR2 800MHz or 1066MHz.

+1

To get your max FSB without OCing your RAM just divide your RAM speed by 2. In your case, the highest you can set your FSB before OCing your RAM is 333MHz. Since your FSB is 350 that means your RAM is OCed to 350x2 = 700MHz. So, most likely your problem is with the RAM, you can try loosening your RAM timings to get the RAM higher or just upgrade to DDR2-800 or DDR2-1066.
 

HDCHOPPER

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Yes change your memory multi to stay within the range of your ram if thay won't OC any , your going to need some good 1066 ram but 3.2 should be fairly eazy to get .....

Check your rams to find thier limits first that will let you know how far you can go with the cpu with them , I have some ddr2 800 that will do 1200 eazy ( sometimes it's the luck of the draw with 800 rams)
 

Tnlgg

Registered
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
Yes 3.2GHz can be reached with DDR2 800MHz,just raise the FSB to 400 & set your memory SPD to 2.0 so its in 1:1 ratio.

400MHz(FSB) x 8(CPU Multiplier) = 3200GHz

FSB= 400MHz
DDR2= 800MHz

I have E6550 CPU overclocked to 3.34GHz with DDR2 1066MHz.
 
OP
E

elitevladek

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
thanks for the help,
so i got it to 3.3 ghz with 1.4125volts and i ran the ortho test and the max temp it got to on both cores was 60c, is it too high? and am I suppose to run the ortho test for 12 hours to test stability?
 

Tnlgg

Registered
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
No its not too high.

The max temp for this CPU is 70-72C,but its the best to keep it under 65C.

Yes run Orthos with Blend test for 24 hours to make sure you are 100% stable.

You should also run it with Small FFTs to check if your CPU is stable or if it needs more voltage & Large inplace FFTs to check your memory & NorthBridge.
 

Franky91

New Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2009
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Q8200 2.33Ghz
4GB 2X2 Team XTream Dark DDR2 1066Mhz
Maxtor 320GB
Gainward 9500GT 1GB DDR2
LC Power 600W

I want to OC my system using the ram at 1066, but originally it goes at 800Mhz. How do I OC my CPU configuring my ram at 1066Mhz?
 

Tnlgg

Registered
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
You NooB!

You cant keep the Ram at 1066MHz & raise only the FSB.

If you raise the FSB your Ram will go with it.

So if your FSB is at 333MHz & your Ram at 533MHz(1066MHz) & you raise the FSB to 400MHz your Ram will then be at overclocked(like 1500MHz or so depending on the SPD you set).

You must set the FSB:DRAM ratio to 1:1(SPD to 2.0) so you can start to overclock.

Look at my SPD settings in the bios:http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=624368