• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OC Stability

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

zendyn

I recently bought a new CPU, the XP1800+ with 1.5v core. It overclocks quite well. I'm getting 2080mhz pretty easily. If I had a 6/1 divider, I'm sure it go quite a bit higher. However, my computer seems to be rebooting about once every few days. Can this be due to the PS? Or should I bumb up the core voltage a bit? The PS is currently the one that comes with the Antec Lanboy. 350 claimed watts I believe. How much does the PS influence the overclocking ability? I'm a little new at this and wanted to know if any of you have any ideas. Here are my voltages...

3.3V reading 3.5V
5V reading 4.84V
12V reading 11.86V

I have no idea what the negative values mean or even if they're connected to the right sensor, but here are the values anyways. I think they may be attached to the wrong sensor or maybe the mobo doesn't support these readings through MBM.

-12V reading -7.17V
-5V reading 0.89V

These are the specs to the system.

1800+ JUIHB-DLT3C running at [email protected] FSB 180.4Mhz
Memory: Kingston Hyper-X PC3000
PowerSupply: Antec 350W SmartBlue
Mobo: KX7-333
CPU cooler: AX-7 w/Panaflow H1A
Idle temp: 45
Load temp: 52

If someone here knows why it may be rebooting, I'd appreciate any ideas.

Thank you

Pinky

Power supply looks like it's holding up, 4.80 on the 5v rail is the magical number, below that and you're going to run into issues... you're at 4.84, I ran many overclocked PSUs at 4.82/4.80 and they were stable, and Antec makes a decent overclockers psu.

If that temp is in-socket (and not the internal cpu diode) then you're pushing 62-65C core temps, that could explain it.

Could also be memory instability, not enough voltage for the fsb and memory timings you're trying to run it at.