• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OCing an i5 750

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

johnc24

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Location
Dublin Ireland
Good evening all

I'm John and new to the forum.

I recently built my first time build of the following flavour ;

CPU: Intel Core i5 750 @ 2.67GHZ
CPU Cooler: Scythe ZIPANG 2
Motherboard: MSI P55-GD65
GPU: HD Radeon 4670
RAM: Kingston 2GB DDR3 1066MHz i5 Memory Module CL7 1.5V X 2
PSU: Corsair HX650
Case: Storm Scout

It's a fine machine, however I am interested in overclocking just because I can do it. But I am also new to OC and I do not know a massive amount about it.

I would like to know is it very hard, or just time consuming through trial and error.

And more importantly can I really muck up the PC? ( I know I will get failed boots, BSOD's etc)

Also if anyone has done it on a similar spec I would love to know your "steps"

I was advised of the following :

Set the voltages to auto.
Go into the frequency control and set it to 200x20 (4GHz, you don't really want any more do you?).
Turn OFF Speedstep (EIST), C1 state, C3/C6 state and turn off Load Line Calibration.
Boot.
Use CPUz to check what voltages you are at.
Go back to the bios, set your vCore to 1 step below what CPUz said.

Boot, Check CPUz Voltage, repeat.

Once you BSOD or fail to boot, up the vcore by 1 step, boot up and run Prime 95 to check stability. If not stable, up the vcore by 1 step at a time until stable

Is that worth a try?

*****Also I have an OC Genie on the mobo, which I tried and it reduced my BCLK from 2.67 to 2.5? but it did increase the FSB which I understand is the important thing, but I switched it off again as I would like to try manual as I guess I may get more out of it*****

Also any other guidance,tips or help would be appreciated.

Thanking You

John
 
Last edited:

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
Give these settings a try for 3.8GHz...

Code:
Adjust CPU Base Frequency: 200
Adjust CPU Ratio: 19
DRAM Timing Mode: Manual
Extreme Memory Profile (XMP): Enabled
Memory Ratio: 2 (4x multiplier = 800MHz Adjusted DRAM frequency at 200MHz BCLK)
CPU Voltage: 1.36V
DRAM Voltage: 1.6V
CPU VTT: 1.25V
PCH 1.05: 1.10V
Load Line Calibration: Enabled
QPI / Uncore Ratio: AUTO or 16 (Adjusted QPI Link = 3200MHz)
PCI-E Frequency: 100
 

gwar2288

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Hello Jon!
Leman here (if you remember me ;)) Follow my advice and you should do fine, just keep LLC off for The Makers sake. Intel says not to use it for a reason.

And I would start at 200*20 (or 191*19) and try and get that stable. Go for Broke or not at all!
 
OP
J

johnc24

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Location
Dublin Ireland
How could I forget you Leman, you are my godsend.

I want to do it but I am afraid I will get to a point and go...oh we didnt cover that what do I do now....I should just bite the bullet, but I must admit I am a tad nervous..

I know it will be one of those situations where once its all over I come back and say its soo easy to everyone else.

Easy when you know how eh.....

I like and need exact step by step stuff.

What exactly do I disable? Then do i reboot and then adjust FSB or all in one go?
 

Joeteck

Retired
Joined
Oct 5, 2001
Location
Long Island
Give these settings a try for 3.8GHz...

Code:
Adjust CPU Base Frequency: 200
Adjust CPU Ratio: 19
DRAM Timing Mode: Manual
Extreme Memory Profile (XMP): Enabled
Memory Ratio: 2 (4x multiplier = 800MHz Adjusted DRAM frequency at 200MHz BCLK)
CPU Voltage: 1.36V
DRAM Voltage: 1.6V
CPU VTT: 1.25V
PCH 1.05: 1.10V
Load Line Calibration: Enabled
QPI / Uncore Ratio: AUTO or 16 (Adjusted QPI Link = 3200MHz)
PCI-E Frequency: 100


its ok, to go right up to the top? 4Ghz? Wow... small steps is not an option...

What about an 860? same?
 
OP
J

johnc24

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Location
Dublin Ireland
Give these settings a try for 3.8GHz...

Code:
Adjust CPU Base Frequency: 200
Adjust CPU Ratio: 19
DRAM Timing Mode: Manual
Extreme Memory Profile (XMP): Enabled
Memory Ratio: 2 (4x multiplier = 800MHz Adjusted DRAM frequency at 200MHz BCLK)
CPU Voltage: 1.36V
DRAM Voltage: 1.6V
CPU VTT: 1.25V
PCH 1.05: 1.10V
Load Line Calibration: Enabled
QPI / Uncore Ratio: AUTO or 16 (Adjusted QPI Link = 3200MHz)
PCI-E Frequency: 100


I can change almost all the settings you say, however I cannot find extreme memory profile (XMP) or Load Line Calibration in the BIOS.

Is it ok to continue without those options being changed?

Also assume worst case scenario and PC does not boot, what is my next step..? use the clear CMOS jumper
 
Last edited:

gwar2288

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Also assume worst case scenario and PC does not boot, what is my next step..? use the clear CMOS jumper

No idea with MSI. I would say so. With my Gigabyte It just reboots automagically. :beer:

LLC should be in the Voltage options rather than the frequency options.

Give me till tomorrow and I'll did through the manual and send you a nice Picture guide ;)
 
OP
J

johnc24

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Location
Dublin Ireland
Strange, I cannot see LLC in my BIOS

It should be in the cell menu, between PCI-e [100] and CPU Voltage....but its not.

I checked google for the P55 GD65 mobo and I see screenshots that have LLC........

what gives.......???
 

RollingThunder

Destroyer of Trolls & Spammers
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Strange, I cannot see LLC in my BIOS

It should be in the cell menu, between PCI-e [100] and CPU Voltage....but its not.

I checked google for the P55 GD65 mobo and I see screenshots that have LLC........

what gives.......???

John,

You need these programs assembled and installed before your start:

1. Memtest V2.11 on a bootable CD or floppy (5 or more full passes).

2. SuperPi used with the 32 mb test.

3. Orthos or Prime95. Orthos preferred because of the nice GUI layed over Prime95. Otherwise it's the same program.


They are all downloadable from the Internet.

Use them in that order for testing your overclocks. DO NOT enter your operating system before running Memtest from a bootable media unless you enjoy reinstalling operating systems. I don't! :)

And yes, if no boot, clear your CMOS. Have fun, you can't hurt much.
 

gwar2288

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Strange, I cannot see LLC in my BIOS

It should be in the cell menu, between PCI-e [100] and CPU Voltage....but its not.

I checked google for the P55 GD65 mobo and I see screenshots that have LLC........

what gives.......???

Make sure you have flashed to the latest BIOS.

Also, apparently (according to the Mobo manual) if it fails to boot, just try and reboot 4 times, and it autoclears the CMOS for you.

And check your PM Box ;)
 
OP
J

johnc24

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Location
Dublin Ireland
Hi Leman

Did you get my PM / PM's. I tried sending a couple of times but it appeared not to send.

Let me know if you got them. If not ill communicate via the thread.
 

gwar2288

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Hi Leman

Did you get my PM / PM's. I tried sending a couple of times but it appeared not to send.

Let me know if you got them. If not ill communicate via the thread.

Ya I got them. Can you tell me what your BIOS version is? it should say so on the POST screen just as you boot up.
 
OP
J

johnc24

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Location
Dublin Ireland
Hi Leman

Thanks for the guide again. All went well. 2.66 to 3.8 and stable.

I have yet to investigate overclocking RAM and my GPU....although I think I will be happy with what I have for the moment.

Cheers
John