• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Ocing my 2.4c (SL6Z3)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

daNo-

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Hey guys,

Im currently running my system at 250 fsb (3000 mhz) on my p4 2.4c (SL6Z3) under these settings:

250/66/33
Dram Ratio: 3:2
Agpratio: Fixed
Vcore: 1.625
Vdimm: 2.65
Agpv: 1.55

My timings are set on default: 2-2-5-2

I haven't tried going up higher, right now im running some benchmarks to test full stability, I installed my OS with this system OCed and proves to be pretty stable..

What do you guys think i could expect from this chip?
How can i get higher speeds?

Thanks
 
OP
D

daNo-

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
:eek: Thanks and also i just ran 3dmark......it ONLY gave me 13523 marks :(:(:( and i have a g4ti4600

OH and one thing... what was default vcore in this chip 1.50 ?
 

pacino

The devil’s advocate
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Location
Where the hottest chicks reside!
Well, I guess 3:2 is your weakest link in that setup, try 5:4 @ 2.8vdimm.. put your vcore back to default and re-run 3dmark.. you should see a nice score jump.
 
Last edited:

Effulgence

Disabled
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Location
Pekin, Illinois
That seems a little low. Make sure your driver settings are right. Your chip might be a little unstable too, maybe youre giving it too little or too much v.
 

Jimbob7

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2003
Location
Rio de Janeiro
what drivers are you using for the 4600ti? there was a post in the 3dmark team part of this forum about drivers for gf4 cards ( i think ) the best drivers were 41.03 or 44.XX i cant quite remember. If you are using the latest drivers from the nvidia site that is a pretty good score, because the new ones 52.xx or whatever are not good for the gf4 range of cards :)
 
OP
D

daNo-

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Can you guys explain why running at 2.8 volts and 5:4 dram ratio is for?? would that help me out reach higher speeds??

the drivers im using on my g4ti4600 are the 53.03

default vcore is 1.50 right?
 
OP
D

daNo-

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Thanks ill check it out and see if that helps the score....now back to the oc whats the 5:4 ratio for ? and the extra 2.8 vdimm?
 
OP
D

daNo-

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Thanks pacino, right now my vcore is running at 1.575, ill lower it a tad after i finish downloading these 41.03 drivers :D and ill push my chip further and ill post back.

Thanks again

Edit: I ran 3dmark with the 41.03 drivers as you guys suggested and it raised from 13500 to 15000 :) I supposed thats the adequate score for this card right?

Now im go ahead and see if my chip runs on default vcore at 250 fsb and ill set 2.8 vdimm and 5:4 ratio
 
Last edited:

Jimbob7

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2003
Location
Rio de Janeiro
told ya so ;) erm let me put it this way 2.4c stock and those drivers i got just under 12k so thats a nice score and at only 250 u will have a very nice 3dmark2k1 score once u are finished overclocking that lil chip of yours ;)
 

shortbus_

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Location
CT
i can get 275fsb at 1.488v core. you should be able to push that a lot further with such good cooling :>
 
OP
D

daNo-

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
It's not very great cooling... my cpu idles at around 44-47°c at 1.575 vcore

Going to push fsb farther untill i get abit of a unstable system and raise vcore then, ill change vdimm-2.8 and also change ratio to 5:4, ill post back if i have any issues
 

shortbus_

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Location
CT
dont worry about the temps unless they are really high. they arent all that accurate considering they are calculated and not read.
 
OP
D

daNo-

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
My system doesn't look stable enough. Right now I'm at 260 *12 = 3121 mhz with vcore at 1.600 and agp voltage at 1.55 and vdimm at 2.8 with 5:4 ratio. My timings are set at default at 2-5-2-2 and i got Hyper Threading enabled and other things as well..:p

How can i get this running stably..? When i ran 3dmark it took me out to windows..

EDIT: even raising vcore to 1.62 did not let me run stable and it took me out on the second test on 3dmark...

Any help would be great....

Thanks
 
Last edited:

shortbus_

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Location
CT
go to a 3:2 ratio and see what the limit of your chip is first. then try 5:4, im guessing your ram isnt all that satable at those timings/speeds, and is causing your problems.
 
OP
D

daNo-

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
I'm at 270fsb *12 = 3243MHz ........... doesnt seem very stable.... im at 1.62 vcore and 3:2 ratio timings at 2-5-2-2 and vdimm 2.8... what can i do?

Suggestions plz
 

shortbus_

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Location
CT
download memtest86 anf run it to rule out your ram. if you dont get any errors then youve probably hit your cpus limit :<

mine use to only be stable @ 275, but after a few days of priming its now stable at 285... just give it some time. you might also want to try to raise your ram timings to 2-3-2-6. thats what i had to do for better stability on my bh5 mushkin.