• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OCZ 4200 timings help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

waddy

Registered
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Location
Isle of Man (GB)
Father Xmas was good enough to give me 1GB of OCZ 4200 EL.

I used to have Crucial 3200 and was a bottleneck in my system.

I am currently running at default timings 2.5, 4, 4, 8 @ 250fsb - 1:1

I would like to get a bit more out of this memory and remain stable.

Can anyone suggest good timings (batboy :) )?
 

CCW

Xtreme refugee
Joined
Nov 8, 2003
Location
UK
What system is this on? AMD or Intel? On Intel the most important timing is the RAS-to-CAS so the tighter this is the better, on AMD the most important timing is the CAS latency. If you are on AMD PC4000 or PC4200 isnt really ideal as its designed for High FSBs and not tight timings.

Craig
 

flapperhead

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Location
wash dc area
waddy said:
Father Xmas was good enough to give me 1GB of OCZ 4200 EL.

I used to have Crucial 3200 and was a bottleneck in my system.

I am currently running at default timings 2.5, 4, 4, 8 @ 250fsb - 1:1

I would like to get a bit more out of this memory and remain stable.

Can anyone suggest good timings (batboy :) )?

as far as i know that stuff only runs around 2.5-4-4-8 or 3-4-4-8. it is made to run 1-1 266 and higher.. ( santa likes u ,1gb of 4200 el )
 
OP
W

waddy

Registered
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Location
Isle of Man (GB)
Thanks for the advice guys. Im on intel. What voltage do you suggest?

I was hoping i could get a bit more out of this ram.

I havent really noticed any performace gain in benchmarks compared to the 2GB of 3200 ram, which was running 5:4.

Si Soft Sandra i gained 1000mb/s.

With the crucial if i tried over a 250fsb it wouldnt boot, so hopefully i can now hit over 250fsb with this,if i get the voltage right.
 

crimedog

Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2003
Location
South of Boston
250mhz 1:1 with a 3.0c is very nice...
personally i would just put the vdimm on max and try to get max fsb, then best timings possible
 

flapperhead

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Location
wash dc area
id run the voltage at 2.8v which is the max of your board..also do some experimenting with the timigs and see if u can get them to run lower..