• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OCZ vdimm booster and me!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mrspec3

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Location
Tallinn, Estonia
Fedex came today and dropped off a new toy for me to play with. :attn:

ocz1.jpg

ocz2.jpg

ocz3.jpg

ocz4.jpg

ocz5.jpg

ocz6.jpg


Ok here is my first run

Asus P4C800-DLX rev 2
OCZ pc3200 plat ltd edition (bh-6) 2x256MB
2.4C w/ stock cooler
9800pro
Enermax 651W psu
Vdimm set at 3.3V through booster and vdimm in bios at auto.
Timings are 2-2-2-6-8-64T-64uSec PAT On- Turbo on

Tested 20mins of memtest 86+

242cpuz.gif

242boost.gif


More to come soon.

Steve
 
OP
mrspec3

mrspec3

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Location
Tallinn, Estonia
It's very simple. I've run it from 2.55V to 3.7V so far without problems. I'm going to put in some other ram and go for 4V.

Pretty much all you do is boot into the bios and set the voltage to auto then reboot and adjust the vdimm as needed by watching the little readout LED

Steve
 

NiTrO bOiE

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2002
Location
Charlotte, NC
Great results! I wish fedex came to my house this early. Are these in stores yet or are you a tester? Also does the new ATX connecter stil have sense lines on the 12v, 5v, and 3.3v line?
 
OP
mrspec3

mrspec3

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Location
Tallinn, Estonia
Beta tester
free + lots of work testing it

3.5Vdimm...btw this ram is only about a week old so it's not burned in a ALL

245cpuz.gif

245boost.gif
 
OP
mrspec3

mrspec3

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Location
Tallinn, Estonia
NiTrO bOiE said:
Great results! I wish fedex came to my house this early. Are these in stores yet or are you a tester? Also does the new ATX connecter stil have sense lines on the 12v, 5v, and 3.3v line?


I'm a tester. The ATX line is just a pass through so it doesn't affect the sense lines at all
 

krag

Classifieds Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Whats up with the sticker on the heatsinks? Not a very good place for a stixker IMO. What did the sticker say? Warrenty void if removed? :eh?:

Whats the temps on the ram at 245fsb?
 
OP
mrspec3

mrspec3

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Location
Tallinn, Estonia
No the sticker isn't really on the heatsinks. It comes around the adjuster knob, but I wanted to take a pic of it so I stuck it on the heatsinks :p

Ram is very cool with a slow speed 92mm fan over the ram and booster

Steve
 

Jarlax

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2003
Location
Asylum
Wow, the booster looks like it works great! I wish they would hurry up and get them into stores...
 

Vio1

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2003
Location
Toronto Canada
i hope these things arent gonna be expensive... i think I may need to pick one of these up for my new OCZ pc3500EB that Im getting... i hear they need lots of voltage and my mobo maxes out at 2.85v. Whats the ETA on these puppies?
 

ZachM

Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Nope! The easiest method involves soldering a wire between two pins on the back of the mobo. That is known to be unsafe for some boards though. The other way involves cutting a trace on the back of the mobo, and soldering wires to the trace. You connect the wires to a variable resistor. The first one I would have total confidence soldering. The second one I would be worried about cutting the trace, and getting the solder to stick to the trace.

Mrspec, that looks like a nice little doodad. Nice job on the writeup and pics.
 

pfx

Registered
Joined
Apr 17, 2004
I sooooo want one of these. I have BH-5 and BH-6 RAM that want more Voltage!!!